Finding the Law: legal research for librarians and paralegals by
Although there are other books that discuss conducting legal research, Finding the Law: Legal Research for Librarians is unique in that it is aimed at librarians, library science students, and paralegals rather than at law students. Because it assumes that its audience already understands the research process in general, this book will allow readers to grow professionally, learning new skills that will be used in the day-to-day practice of librarianship as it applies to our legal systems. Topics covered include the origins of legal publishing; an overview of the U.S. system of law and government; issues related to the U. S. Constitution and Treaties; and the activities of the legislative and executive branches. Consideration is also given to researching state legal systems, emphasizing the differences to conducting research for the federal systems. The book concludes with an examination of the legal issues faced by librarians, publishers, and book distributors.
Legal Reference for Librarians: how and where to find the answers by
In recent years the number of Americans who have decided to handle their own legal affairs without the help of a lawyer has skyrocketed. Ranging from people writing their own wills or drafting a contract to those trying to represent themselves in court, they're going to public and academic libraries for answers. As both an attorney and a librarian, Healy's background makes him uniquely qualified to advise library staff on providing users with the legal information they seek, and in this handbook, heProvides a concise orientation on legal research, including strategies for finding information quickly and a handpicked compendium of the best resourcesOffers guidance on how to provide advice on legal research while steering clear of liabilityCovers federal legal reference as well as all 50 states, with a comprehensive list of web-based legal resourcesLibrary staff can provide valuable and ethical legal reference guidance with the practical guidance in this book.
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Research Methods in Library and Information Science, 7th Edition by
The seventh edition of this frequently adopted textbook features new or expanded sections on social justice research, data analysis software, scholarly identity research, social networking, data science, and data visualization, among other topics. It continues to include discipline experts' voices. The revised seventh edition of this popular text provides instruction and guidance for professionals and students in library and information science who want to conduct research and publish findings, as well as for practicing professionals who want a broad overview of the current literature. Providing a broad introduction to research design, the authors include principles, data collection techniques, and analyses of quantitative and qualitative methods, as well as advantages and limitations of each method and updated bibliographies. Chapters cover the scientific method, sampling, validity, reliability, and ethical concerns along with quantitative and qualitative methods. LIS students and professionals will consult this text not only for instruction on conducting research but also for guidance in critically reading and evaluating research publications, proposals, and reports. As in the previous edition, discipline experts provide advice, tips, and strategies for completing research projects, dissertations, and theses; writing grants; overcoming writer's block; collaborating with colleagues; and working with outside consultants. Journal and book editors discuss how to publish and identify best practices and understudied topics, as well as what they look for in submissions. Features new or expanded sections on social justice research; virtual collaboration, data collection, and dissemination; scholarly communication; computer-assisted qualitative and quantitative data analysis; scholarly identity research and guidelines; data science; and visualization of quantitative and qualitative data Provides a broad and comprehensive overview and update, especially of research published over the past five years Highlights school, public, and academic research findings Relies on the coauthors' expertise in research design, securing grant funding, and using the latest technology and data analysis software
The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction by
Community colleges are a cornerstone of higher education and serve the unique needs of the communities in which they reside. In 2019, community colleges accounted for 41 percent of all undergraduate students in the United States. Community college librarians are engaged in meaningful work designing and delivering library programs and services that meet the needs of their diverse populations and support student learning. The Community College Library series is meant to lift the voices of community college librarians and highlight their creativity, tenacity, and commitment to students. The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction collects research, programs, and new approaches to reference and instruction implemented by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including using race-centered and trauma-informed practices in the reference interview; incorporating online workshops into an existing information literacy program; and using student-driven pedagogy to navigate the early stages of research. This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are meeting the information and research needs of their college population both in person and remotely, all while providing a safe, inclusive space for students to explore and learn.
Reference and Information Services: an introduction by
Designed to complement every introductory library reference course, this is the perfect text for students and librarians looking to expand their personal reference knowledge, teaching failsafe methods for identifying important materials by matching specific types of questions to the best available sources, regardless of format. Guided by a national advisory board of educators and practitioners including Eileen Abels, Anita Ondrusek, Marie L. Radford, and Steven Tash, this text expertly keeps up with new technologies and practices while remaining grounded in the basics of reference work. Chapters on fundamental concepts, major reference sources, and special topics in reference provide a solid foundation, plus fresh insight on new issues, including New chapters on ethics, readers' advisory, and reference services for children and young adults Website development and maintenance RSS feeds Social networking Delivering reference services across multiple platformsAs librarians experience a changing climate for all information services professionals, Cassell and Hiremath provide the tools needed to manage the ebb and flow of changing reference services in the 21st century.
The Reference Interview Today: negotiating and answering questions face to face, on the phone, and virtually by
More an art than a science, the reference interview requires not only knowing a specific set of skills, but also how to apply those skills in an ever-changing world. Good reference interviews accomplish three goals: establishing contact with the user, determining what the user's information need actually is, and checking to make sure that the answer actually meets that need completely. Built around timeless service principles including Ranganathan's Five Laws, The Reference Interview Today: Negotiating and Answering Questions Face to Face, on the Phone, and Virtually is a practical field guide to conducting reference interviews in every modality: face-to-face, phone, chat, text, virtual world such as Second Life, and even mashup reference interviews where multiple modalities are used to answer the question. Following a concise presentation of reference interview basics, the heart of the book is 12 different reference interview scenarios set in different modes and demonstrating a specific principle. Each of these twelve follows a similar construction: a general overview of the principle (for example, save the time of the reader), a script of the reference interview, and then learning questions designed to demonstrate the principle(s) as illustrated in the script. Examples range from assisting faculty members with scholarly resources to helping a high school student with a paper to assisting a hairdresser with a reference question. One scenario is based in the year 2025 to emphasize the timeless nature of reference service. Seamlessly combining both time-honored principles and multiple technologies, this practical book demonstrates how librarians can be as relevant and necessary in the digital age as in the print world. Appropriate for both novice and experienced librarians as well as for LIS students, this concise handbook speaks to those working in or preparing for careers in public, school, academic, and special libraries..
Reference and Information Services: An Introduction by
This revised and updated sixth edition of Reference and Information Services continues the book's rich tradition, covering all phases of reference and information services with less emphasis on print and more emphasis on strategies and scenarios. Reference and Information Services is the go-to textbook for MSLIS and i-School courses on reference services and related topics. It is also a helpful handbook for practitioners. Authors include LIS faculty and professionals who have relevant degrees in their areas and who have published extensively on their topics. The first half of the book provides an overview of reference services and techniques for service provision, including the reference interview, ethics, instruction, reader's advisory, and services to diverse populations including children. This part of the book establishes a foundation of knowledge on reference service and frames each topic with ethical and social justice perspectives. The second part of the book offers an overview of the information life cycle and dissemination of information, followed by an in-depth examination of information sources by type--including dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes, and abstracts--as well as by broad subject areas including government, statistics and data, health, and legal information. This second section introduces the tools and resources that reference professionals use to provide the services described in the first half of the text. Reference and Information Services is a recognized textbook for information retrieval courses and updates the previous edition Editors and contributors are experts in the field Activity boxes engage readers and invite them to reflect on what they are learning and to practice skills through real-life exercises Conscious integration of critical theory and social justice perspectives offers critical reflection on the standards and practices of the field and encourages readers to consider alternate perspectives
Fundamentals of Government Information: mining, finding, evaluating, and using government resources by
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them. Unmatched in its scope, this book covers such key topics as- the history of government information, from its colorful beginnings to the era of Wikileaks, Edward Snowden, and data breaches;- how to think like a government documents librarian in order to find information efficiently, plus other research tips;- all types of law resources and information, including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations;- Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set;- patents, trademarks, and intellectual property;- census data, educational information, and other statistical resources;- health information, with an in-depth look at the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the trend toward and impact of online medical records; and- science, environmental, and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy.Exercises throughout the text support instruction, while the approachable and well-organized style make it ideal for day-to-day reference use.
Librarian's Guide to Online Searching: cultivating database skills for research and instruction by
Updates the premier textbook for students and librarians needing to know the landscape of current databases and how to search them. Librarians need to know of existing databases, and they must be able to teach search capabilities and strategies to library users. This practical guide introduces librarians to a broad spectrum of fee-based and freely available databases and explains how to teach them. The updated 6th edition of this well-regarded text covers new databases on the market as well as updates to older databases. It also explains underlying information structures and demonstrates how to search most effectively. It introduces readers to several recent changes, such as the move away from metadata-based indexing to full text indexing by vendors covering newspaper content. Business databases receive greater emphasis. As in the previous editions, this book takes a real-world approach, covering topics from basic and advanced search tools to online subject databases. Each chapter includes a thorough discussion, a recap, concrete examples, exercises, and points to consider, making it an ideal text for courses in database searching as well as a trustworthy professional resource. Helps librarians and students understand the latest developments in library databases Looks not only at textual databases but also numerical, image, video, and social media resources Includes changes and trends in database functionality since the 5th edition
Making Sense of Business Reference: a guide for librarians and research professionals by
In times of recession, the library is more critical than ever for those who want to start a business and need to do research, and academic and public libraries are at the heart of a growing need to research business questions. An "accidental business reference librarian by trade," Ross explains how to provide quality reference help on issues from marketing to finance--for business people, students, and even business faculty. Honing in on fundamentals, this practical guide Explains how to conduct the reference interview, with tips for helping clients help themselves Identifies important business resources, both free and fee-based Offers chapters devoted to industry and market information; small-business needs; international business research; investing and the stock market; and marketing and demographics A detailed bibliography functions as both a standing reference for desk use as well as a collection development aid for building a core business collection. Including numerous illustrative case studies, Making Sense of Business Reference takes the guesswork out of doing business.
Modern Pathfinders: creating better research guides by 
Repositioning Reference: new methods and new services for a new age by
To compete today, librarians need to not only provide old services in new ways but also to provide new services. Repositioning Reference: New Methods and New Services for a New Age re-imagines reference services in libraries and information organizations and the role of reference librarians, taking into account rapid developments in technology and information-specific services in non-library sectors. It traces the history of technology adoption for reference services, describes competitive pressures facing reference services, identifies untapped opportunities for reference services and librarians, details innovative and creative solutions for energizing the profession and engaging library user communities, and prescribes means to evaluating technologies for reference services. This book: - Includes current and unique examples of innovative reference services to serve as inspiration and launching points for readers. - Offers contemporary management theory and practice from outside of the field of LIS to offer readers a guide for initiating, leading, and managing change in their organizations. - Outlines the processes of environmental scanning and SWOT analysis, which are important practices for keeping abreast of changes in the field and positioning an organization to make the most of their opportunities and to minimize threats. Repositioning Reference may be used as a textbook by LIS educators whose courses and learning experiences prepare aspiring librarians to lead the reference revolution and by practicing librarians in diverse settings who want to be change agents.
Conducting the Reference Interview: a how-to-do-it manual for librarians by
The revised 2nd edition of this practical how-to for all types of librarians will teach you to understand the needs of public, academic, and special library users across any virtual setting--email, text messaging, and social networking Web sites--as welll as in traditional and face-to-face models of communication. Based on the latest research in communication theory, the book includes new exercises and examples to help you practice effective reference transactions and avoid common pitfalls. Guidance for helping users with special language-related needs (such as speech and hearing disabilities and English language learners) and social difficulties is also included, as are updated chapters on readers' advisory interviewing and policy and training procedures. An extensively revised chapter on virtual reference features new sections on live chat and instant messaging services as well as a discussion of Web 2.0 initiatives and updated information on email reference.
The Reference Librarian's Bible: print and digital reference resources every library should own by
Divided into dedicated categories about the subjects most meaningful to librarians, this valuable resource reviews 500 texts across all major fields. Drawing on their collective experience in reference services and sifting through nearly 30,000 reviews in ARBAonline, editors Steven Sowards, associate director for collection at Michigan State University Libraries, and Juneal Chenoweth, editor of American Reference Books Annual, curated this collection of titles, most of which have been published since 2000, to serve collections and reference librarians in academic and public libraries. From the Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences and Encyclopedia of the Civil War to the Encyclopedia of Physics, Encyclopedia of Insects, and Taylor's Encyclopedia of Garden Plants to the formidable Oxford English Dictionary, The Reference Librarian's Bible encompasses every subject imaginable and will be your first stop for choosing and evaluating your library's collections as well as for answering patrons' questions. Critically assesses the most widely held reference titles Includes LC and Dewey classifications for every title Makes finding titles easy with organization by subject
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu