Genealogy: a practical guide for librarians by
Commercials for the largest subscription database indicate that the process of genealogy is simple--you just "plug in" what you know, and the database does the rest Those ads might sell subscriptions, but they are misleading. Getting beyond that "low-hanging fruit" is not so easy; collecting the records and data needed to delineate a family tree accurately requires time, organization, and informed searching. Records are available from many places, and finding them is never a "one-stop shopping" experience. So how does the new researcher identify which resources meet his or her specific research needs? And how can libraries and librarians best help this new generation of genealogists? Genealogy: A Practical Guide for Librarians offers help on several levels: First, librarians can use this book to learn what resources, both print and online, their library should offer their patron base. This means not only what monographs to purchase and subscription databases to maintain, but what websites to highlight at the library's webpage, what to include in their online tutorials, what adult education programming is appropriate. Critical assessments of print and online resources are given, including the strengths and weaknesses that librarians need to help patrons understand them. Second, both librarians and researchers can find here an in-depth discussion of the research process itself, including the best steps for a beginning researcher and search strategies for the experienced one. And third, anyone can use this book to become better informed about the phenomenon of genealogy itself and about the latest standards for online searching and research. The book includes practical advice for every public-service librarian and offers all researchers, from novice level to experienced, a clearly delineated context for the popular subject of family history research.
Conversations with the World's Leading Orchestra and Opera Librarians by
This book is based on a series of informative interviews with a number of music librarians working for different leading symphony orchestras and opera companies throughout the world. In these interviews, librarians share with the readers what kind of professional skills, knowledge and personality that are required to supply music to the performers onstage, as well as information to these world-famous performing arts organizations. Interviewees also discuss in details about their professional lives, i.e., including their personal stories and working relationships with various legendary conductors and star soloists, e.g., Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle, James Levine, Donald Runnicles, Bernard Haitink, Zubin Mehta, Sir Colin Davis, etc. Via the interviewees' stories, one can also get a glimpse of the different inside operations and the unique management styles behind the backstage of these internationally renowned performing arts organizations. There are fourteen conversations including interviews with the Chief Librarian at the Metropolitan Opera and the Orchestra Librarians at the San Francisco Ballet, the Berlin Philharmonic, and Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.
Uncommon Quotes for Library Lovers by
Celebrate librarianship and the love of libraries with this new collection of quotes! Included are 100 of the most insightful, thought-provoking, and uplifting aphorisms about books, the joy of reading, intellectual freedom, and librarianship. You'll find quotes from authors such as Celeste Ng, Suheir Hammad, Azar Nafisi, Junot Díaz, and Ta-Nehisi Coates; entertainers like Ziggy Marley and Stephen Colbert; and leaders such as Malala Yousafzai--all highlighting the impact of libraries and librarians. This diverse and delightful collection makes a perfect gift for showing your appreciation to valued colleagues, volunteers, board members, and bibliophiles. And your purchase funds advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library and information professionals worldwide!
Bibliomysteries: crime in the world of books and bookstores by
Specially commissioned by the Mysterious Bookshop, the "bibliomysteries" in this unique collection feature original stories by the genre's most distinguished authors: Ian Rankin, Thomas Perry, Joyce Carol Oates, Megan Abbott, and Elizabeth George. If you like mysteries and you like books, what could be better than combining both worlds, with mysteries set against a background involving books? This collection of crime for bibliophiles includes stories about rare books, bookshops, libraries, manuscripts, magical books, collectors--in short, the wonderful universe that makes this precious object we all love so important and priceless. Ian Rankin sets his tale of the lost original manuscript of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in the legendary Paris bookshop Shakespeare & Co., while F. Paul Wilson offers a book with remarkable powers. Joyce Carol Oates portrays an overly ambitious dealer in mystery fiction, while James Grady has the "Condor" working in the Library of Congress. Ste- phen Hunter tells a previously unknown story of Alan Turing set during World War I--involving a book that could change the history of the world--and Peter Lovesey writes about a box full of Agatha Christie titles that just may be priceless. Carolyn Hart's story is about an astonishing inscription in a book, while Megan Abbott and Denise Mina add their Edgar-nominated stories to this stellar collection. Whether your taste is for the traditional mystery, something a little more hard-boiled, or the bizarre and humorous tale, you will find exactly your cup of tea in this outstanding collection of fifteen stories by the most distinguished mystery writers working today. Including stories by: Peter Lovesey, F. Paul Wilson, Lyndsay Faye, Bradford Morrow, R. L. Stine, Joyce Carol Oates, Thomas Perry, Elizabeth George, Carolyn Hart, Megan Abbott, Stephen Hunter, Denise Mina, James Grady, Ian Rankin, and James W. Hall.
Library 2020: today's leading visionaries describe tomorrow's library by
Thinking about the future of libraries, librarianship and the work librarians do is as old as libraries themselves. (No doubt seminars were organized by the Alexandria Librarians Association on the future of the scroll and what to do about the rising barbarian tide.) At no time in our memory, though, have these discussions and conversations been so profound and critical. Here one of today's leading thinkers and speakers about the future of libraries brings together 30 leaders from all types of libraries and from outside librarianship to describe their vision of what the library will be in 2020. Contributors including Stephen Abram, Susan Hildreth, Marie Radford, Clifford Lynch, and Library Journal's The Annoyed Librarian were asked to describe the "library of 2020," in whatever terms they wanted, either a specific library or situation or libraries in general. They were told: "be bold, be inspirational, be hopeful, be true, be provocative, be realistic, be depressing, be light-hearted, be thoughtful, be fun...be yourself, and for heaven's sake, don't be boring." Not that they could be. Broadly representative of important perspectives and aspects within the profession as well as featuring important voices beyond the professional realm, Library 2020 presents thought-provoking and illuminating visions from many points of view. It is both required reading for library leaders and trustees as well as an ideal supplemental text for LIS classes looking at the future of the profession.
Viewing Library Metrics from Different Perspectives: inputs, outputs, and outcomes by
This guidebook shows academic libraries how to use innovative new performance metrics to achieve greater accountability and higher levels of service. Viewing Library Metrics from Different Perspectives: Inputs, Outputs, and Outcomes helps academic librarians go well beyond the basic guideposts of inputs and outputs to explore a wide range of metrics for measuring their effectiveness and improving performance. Based on their groundbreaking article, "Outcomes Assessment: Not Synonymous with Inputs and Outputs," Robert Dugan and Peter Hernon, along with coauthor Danuta Nitecki, give libraries the tools they need to see beyond their own walls and interpret both outcome and impact metrics from the perspective of the parent institution, the customer, and the stakeholder, as well as the library itself. Viewing Library Metrics from Different Perspectives makes a convincing argument for targeting the right audience with the right metric. The first three chapters introduce key concepts and the relevant literature, and helps libraries make the crucial distinction between assessment and evaluation. Chapters four through nine examine the four perspectives and their attendant metrics. The final chapters discuss how best to present and interpret the results. Offers a complementary, continually updated website that lets readers work hands-on with different metrics Includes a wide-ranging bibliography that goes beyond library and information science Provides appendices that summarize the text and illustrate the numerous metrics that are relevant to libraries Includes a comprehensive index that draws together diverse literature and terminology
The Community College Library: Assessment by
Community colleges are a cornerstone of higher education and serve the unique needs of the communities in which they reside. In 2019, community colleges accounted for 41 percent of all undergraduate students in the United States. Community college librarians are engaged in meaningful work designing and delivering library programs and services that meet the needs of their diverse populations and support student learning. The Community College Library series is meant to lift the voices of community college librarians and highlight their creativity, tenacity, and commitment to students. The Community College Library: Assessment explores the research, comprehensive plans, and new approaches to assessment being created by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including assessing student learning while shifting from Standards to Framework; investigating and communicating library instruction's relationship to student retention; and building librarian assessment confidence through communities of research practice. This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are measuring, evaluating, and reflecting on the services they provide, and how to use these assessments to demonstrate the value and impact of library services and advocate for resources.
Handbook for Community College Librarians by
An in-depth understanding of the complexities, dynamics, and emerging trends in community college libraries today. Handbook for Community College Librarians covers all aspects of librarianship that apply to community colleges in a one-stop reference book. It provides information that enables the librarian to become more successful in the community college environment and reflects on its unique qualities, identifying the specific skills required and the differences from other library settings. The authors address instructional design and highlight the distinctions in the types of information literacy appropriate to the specialized curriculum and certification needs of a community college. Besides being an outstanding professional development tool, this handbook will also be useful to library and information science students studying service in community college libraries as a career option. Provides insights from two librarians experienced in working in community college libraries who are networked across the country with seasoned community college librarian colleagues Includes chapter summaries and real-world stories make the content useful and relevant as well as easy to use Covers issues of paramount importance, including assessment, advocacy, and information literacy variations Appropriate for existing community college librarians, directors, and paraprofessionals as a professional development resource as well as an orientation tool for new librarians moving into a community college assignment
Competency-Based Career Planning for Reference and User Services Professionals by
Reference and user services librarians need to be in charge of their own careers. And when it comes to their own professional development, that means being proactive. This resource will enable professionals at every stage of their careers to honestly assess their skills and knowledge. Utilizing the RUSA (Reference and User Services Association) Professional Competencies as a framework for reflecting on strengths as well as gaps in expertise, it guides readers through developing strategies to enhance their professional standing and potential, thereby leading to a more satisfying career. In this book former RUSA president Whitlatch, who chaired the initial committee establishing the Competencies, teams up with expert trainer Woodard to introduce the seven categories of the RUSA Professional Competencies, explaining the ways in which each is important to both practitioner and institution; demonstrate how to create a personal development plan that focuses on development priorities; discuss the Association for Talent Development (ATD) Competency Development Model and other action plans; offer guidance for setting goals and measuring progress; share information on a variety of development activities that readers can undertake to maintain and enhance professional competencies, including formal training opportunities, on-the-job experiences, and self-directed initiatives; and provide recommended self-evaluation techniques such as writing up notes from group discussions, exercises, short verbal and written reports, crafting presentations on a topic, and sharing concrete examples of how skills were applied in the workplace.
Fundamentals of Technical Services by
Written by librarians working and teaching on the front lines, this guide uses a functional, hands-on approach to lay out the basics of technical services, from acquiring new materials to making them available to library users. Perfect for those just moving into the profession, as well as library staff in need of a brush up, Fundamentals of Technical Services concisely examines What precisely Technical Services are, with a brief history of the field Collection development and acquisitions, including budgeting, ordering, and receiving Metadata and cataloging, from MARC to RDA Dealing with different kinds of materials, including books/monographs, serials, video, audio, and electronic/e-resources The basics of physical processing Systems such as ILS, ERM, and EDI Collection maintenance issues such as book repair/preservation and weeding Authority control and database maintenance Vendors, contracts, workflow, and other administrative functions Forward-looking analysis of important trends and developments such as pricing, consortia/co-ops, languages of materials, and outsourcing Complete with a handy glossary, this primer provides essential coverage of the broad array of technical services and how the library's back-office operations work together. Examination copies are available for instructors who are interested in adopting this title for course use.
The Complete Guide to Acquisitions Management, 2nd Edition by
Updated and enhanced, the second edition of this text provides both library students and practitioners with a thorough understanding of procedural and philosophical approaches in acquisitions management. Since the last edition of this text was published over a decade ago, library acquisitions practices have changed dramatically in response to economic and industry changes and the introduction and maturation of new technologies. An essential tool kit, this updated edition covers every aspect of current acquisitions management from organization of acquisitions departments to professional ethics. The step-by-step guide takes you through acquisitions department activities from the beginning of the ordering process through making materials available to the public. You'll learn about the latest acquisitions systems, negotiating bids and RFPs, gifts and exchange, and decisions of permanence. In addition, the book provides expert guidance on relationships with vendors as well as on the publishing industry in general. Key among the updates to this second edition is information about major changes that have occurred recently, including what's new in integrated library systems, electronic resource management, and patron- and demand-driven acquisitions. An appendix offers a wealth of resources on topics related to acquisitions and includes a comprehensive glossary. Incorporates thoroughly updated information that reflects today's fast-changing world of acquisitions management and addresses the changing landscape of publishing overall Highlights new web-based materials Takes an integrated approach to acquisitions functions and operations Serves as both a manual for practicing acquisitions librarians and support staff and as a textbook for students in library and information science programs
The Library's Role in Supporting Financial Literacy for Patrons by
Library Roles in Achieving Financial Literacy among its Patrons is a collection of articles from 25 librarians in different parts of the U.S. and Canada, each contributing 3,000-4,000 words: concise chapters with sidebars, bullets, and headers; there is an introduction. Contributors were selected for the creative potential in their topics, those that can be used in various types of libraries and that demonstrate a command of financial literacy and are able to communicate what they know to aiding users solve their financial information problems. The collection has three sections. The first provides an overview of financial literacy: what it means generally, what needs exist among library patrons, and what approaches have been tried to date. The second section deals with resources that are available in libraries, or should be made available. These include collections, skill sets in librarians, program opportunities and others. The third section is a series of case studies that demonstrate successes and best practices.
Data Science for Librarians by
This unique textbook intersects traditional library science with data science principles that readers will find useful in implementing or improving data services within their libraries. Data Science for Librarians introduces data science to students and practitioners in library services. Writing for academic, public, and school library managers; library science students; and library and information science educators, authors Yunfei Du and Hammad Rauf Khan provide a thorough overview of conceptual and practical tools for data librarian practice. Partially due to how quickly data science evolves, libraries have yet to recognize core competencies and skills required to perform the job duties of a data librarian. As society transitions from the information age into the era of big data, librarians and information professionals require new knowledge and skills to stay current and take on new job roles, such as data librarianship. Such skills as data curation, research data management, statistical analysis, business analytics, visualization, smart city data, and learning analytics are relevant in library services today and will become increasingly so in the near future. This text serves as a tool for library and information science students and educators working on data science curriculum design. Reviews fundamental concepts and principles of data science Offers a practical overview of tools and software Highlights skills and services needed in the 21st-century academic library Covers the entire research data life cycle and the librarian's role at each stage Provides insight into how library science and data science intersect
The Politics of Theory and the Practice of Critical Librarianship by
Over the past fifteen years, librarians have increasingly looked to theory as a means to destabilize normative discourses and practices within LIS, to engage in inclusive and non-authoritarian pedagogies, and to organize for social justice. "Critlib," short for "critical librarianship," is variously used to refer to a growing body of scholarship, an intellectual or activist movement within librarianship, an online community that occasionally organizes in-person meetings, and an informal Twitter discussion space active since 2014, identified by the #critlib hashtag. Critlib "aims to engage in discussion about critical perspectives on library practice" but it also seeks to bring "social justice principles into our work in libraries" (http: //critlib.org/about/). The role of theory within librarianship in general, and critical librarianship more specifically, has emerged as a site of tension within the profession. In spite of an avowedly activist and social justice-oriented agenda, critlib--as an online discussion space at least--has come under fire from some for being inaccessible, exclusionary, elitist, and disconnected from the practice of librarianship, empirical scholarship, and on-the-ground organizing for socioeconomic and political change. At the same time, critical librarianship may be becoming institutionalized, as seen in the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, the January 2015 editorial in College and Research Libraries that specifically solicited articles using critical theory or humanistic approaches, and the publication of several critical librarianship monographs by the Association of College and Research Libraries. This book features original research, reflective essays and conversations, and dialogues that consider the relationships between theory, practice, and critical librarianship through the lenses of the histories of librarianship and critical librarianship, intellectual and activist communities, professional practices, information literacy, library technologies, library education, specific theoretical approaches, and underexplored epistemologies and ways of knowing. Karen Nicholson is Manager, Information Literacy, at the University of Guelph, and a PhD candidate (LIS) at Western University, both in Ontario. Her research interests include information literacy and critical university studies. Maura Seale is History Librarian at the University of Michigan and was previously Collections, Research, and Instruction Librarian at Georgetown University. She received an MA in American Studies from the University of Minnesota and an MSI from the University of Michigan. She welcomes comments and can be found on Twitter at @mauraseale.
Renew Yourself: a six-step plan for more meaningful work by
Ideal for both self-paced study and team-based staff development, this six-step plan will help readers renew themselves, their careers, and their organizations.
The Dysfunctional Library: challenges and solutions to workplace relationships by
By tackling the dysfunctional library head on, managers as well as library workers who find themselves in a toxic situation will be poised to better meet library goals and move the library forward.
The Mindful Librarian: connecting the practice of mindfulness to librarianship by
The Mindful Librarian: Connecting the Practice of Mindfulness to Librarianship explores mindfulness, approaching it in such a way as to relate specifically to the many roles or challenges librarians face. Coinciding with the increased need to juggle a variety of tasks, technologies, ebooks, and databases, the new Association of College & Research Libraries Framework for Information Literacy, and the challenges faced by solo librarians in school libraries which have suffered cutbacks in help in recent years, the time is exactly right for this publication. The authors hope to be helpful in some small way towards improving the joy and quality of life that librarians and library science students experience in their personal lives and jobs. The loftier goal would be to create a new lens from which to view librarianship, having a transformative impact on readers, and opening a new dialog within the profession. The topic of mindfulness is not new; it has been connected to various religious traditions in a wide variety of ways for centuries, most notably Buddhism. In the latter part of the 20th century, however, a secular version was popularized largely by the work of Jon Kabat-Zinn and his work on MBSR (Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction) at the University of Massachusetts's Medical School. The medical benefits and the overall quality of life improvements from its adoption have exploded in recent years, in particular, the last two decades which have seen mindfulness traditions incorporated into education to a greater degree and with very positive results.
Fostering Wellness in the Workplace: a Handbook for Libraries by
Whether you're an administrator or library leader concerned about the health and well-being of your team, or a library worker excited to launch a health and wellness movement in your library, you'll find sensible guidance and inspiration in Newman's handbook. As part of their dedication to improving the lives of their patrons, libraries have long offered services, programs, and outreach dedicated to the health and wellness of their communities. There is a growing recognition that library workers themselves are in urgent need of such attention; low morale, and complaints of burnout and a toxic work environment, are only a few of the obvious symptoms. The good news is that by turning inward, libraries can foster wellness in their workplace and make a real difference in the day-to-day lives of their staff. Newman, who has led a popular course on the subject attended by workers from many types of different libraries, here takes a holistic approach to examine why and how libraries should focus on improving the health and wellness of employees. Filled with hands-on advice, examples of successful initiatives, and suggested action steps, in this book readers will learn how to define health and wellness, including its physical, psychological, and social aspects, and why they touch upon nearly everything that happens in the workplace; what a workplace looks like when it strives to ensure the complete physical, mental, and social well-being of workers, and the ways in which this approach to a work environment benefits both the library and the community it serves; the role played by the physical aspects of the workplace, such as the ergonomics of sitting and standing desks, the effects of air quality and smell on worker health and productivity, and noise levels stemming from open plan workspaces; about key policies relating to wages, working schedules, where employees work, and child and elder care; real-world advice on addressing complicated workplace issues like emotional and invisible labor, with a look at the part that burdensome or indifferent policies and practices can play in contributing to compassion fatigue and burnout; ways to make healthy choices for oneself and encourage healthy choices in co-workers and staff; concrete, evidence-based steps that libraries can take to improve workplace wellness; how to make a lasting difference by focusing on one aspect they can change personally and one that they can advocate changing library wide.
Foundations of Library and Information Science by
Spanning all types of libraries, from public to academic, school, and special, this book illuminates the major facets of library and information science for aspiring professionals as well as those already practicing in the field.
Foundations of Library Services: by
Trained library support staff is critical in assisting the user in locating and interpreting the resources available in libraries. To do so requires the knowledge and practice of library missions and roles in different types of libraries and the delivery of that information to an increasingly diverse clientele. The plethora of resources available today requires that support staff understand and implement the basic principles of information services as well as the responsibility and relationships among library departments and functional areas. Foundations of Library Services is both a text for professors who teach in library support staff programs and an introductory reference manual for support staff who work in libraries. This book will guide the LSS to be able to: -Understand the mission and role of the library in its community -Be familiar with the ethics and values of the profession, including those of the Library Bill of Rights, the ALA Code of Ethics, freedom of information, confidentiality of library records and privacy issues -Know the responsibility and relationships among library departments -Practice the basic principles of circulation, including interlibrary loan; current cataloging and classification systems; and acquisitions and collection development policies. -Understand how libraries are governed and funded within their organizations or government structures -Realize the value of cooperation to enhance services -Practice quality customer service -Communicate and promote the library's values and services -Recognize and respond to diversity in user needs
Library and Information Center Management, 9th Edition by
This essential, single-volume textbook supplies a comprehensive introduction to library management that addresses all the functions of management, specifically within the ever-evolving modern library environment. Strategic planning. Facilities management. Leadership, ethics, communication, and motivation. Human resources and staffing. Change, library development, and innovation. Marketing. Measurement and evaluation. Fiscal responsibility and control. These are just some of the wide range of responsibilities and necessary skills of contemporary library managers--not all of which are typically covered in detail in LIS educational programs. Now updated and expanded for its ninth edition, Libraries Unlimited's Library and Information Center Management is the core management text for library information science programs. This latest text adds new information on grant writing as well as more about budgets, marketing, financial management, assessment, and evidence-based management. The authors include various real-world examples from international settings to help readers understand and conceptualize the place of the library and information center in our global world. Each chapter ends with two helpful sections that present numerous examples and opportunities to apply newly gained information: "Practice Your Skills" and "Discussion Questions." The latest edition of a best-selling core management text--now in its ninth edition--covering all the management functions of libraries and information centers Supplies new discussion topics, examples of management challenges, and case studies Provides a global perspective on library management Contains new discussion topics and case studies and offers supplementary online materials Includes "Chapter Takeaways," a list of topics that the reader should understand after reading the chapter; "Management on the Job" sections referencing a specific journal article that demonstrates the chapter topic; and "Talk about It" and "Practice Your Skills" segments that offer readers a chance to demonstrate what they are learning
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu