Skip to main content

Nursing: Find Nursing Articles

Gateway Libraries

PowerPoint on Nursing Research (Fundamentals EBP Paper)

What is Nursing Research?

  The American Association of Colleges of Nursing  (AACN) defines the purpose of nursing research as:  “Nursing research provides the scientific basis for the practice of the profession...nursing research focuses on the understanding and easement of the symptoms of acute and chronic illness; prevention or delayed onset of disease or disability or slowing the progression thereof; finding effective approaches to achieve and sustain optimal health; and improvement of the clinical settings in which care is provided.”

Click here to read the complete AACN Position Statement on Nursing Research.

What is a Research Article?

A typical nursing assignment involves finding a research article from a professional journal about some aspect of nursing practice.

Find Nursing Articles Using OVID

Full text access to 54 American-based nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc. Includes Cancer Nursing, Family & Community Health, Journal of Cardiovascular Care, Journal of Hospice & Palliative Care, Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Continence Care Nursing, MCN-American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, OR Nurse, Plastic Surgical Nursing, and many others.

Find Articles Using CINAHL from EBSCOhost

What is CINAHL?  A database with descriptions of articles from over 600 magazines and journals about medical practice including nursing, physical therapy, dental hygiene, medical assisting, speech pathology and other allied healthcare research.  The database includes summaries of the articles and in many cases, the actual article is attached for reading, printing, saving, and emailing. Articles date back to 1981. The CINAHL database begin in the early 1940s by several nurses as a collection of index cards describing and summarizing research articles.

Find Nursing Articles Using the Online Journal of Issues in Nursing (OJIN)

OJIN is a peer-reviewed, online publication from the American Nurses Association, that addresses current topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector.The intent of this journal is to present different views on issues that affect nursing research, education, and practice, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a topic. The journal is indexed by CINAHL and Medline.

Find Articles Using PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) electronic database of 20 million biomedical citations and abstracts. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, and health and rehabilitation sciences, including physical therapy. Search for your topic and a list of article descriptions will result. Some descriptions will link to the actual article, when available.   For all others, ask the Gateway Library Staff to borrow copies from other libraries at no-cost to you. 

Find Articles Using Health-Source-Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)