Skip to main content

Nursing: Nursing Class Assignments

543-101 Nursing: Fundamentals

Need articles from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.

Looking for the Nurse Practice Act for Wisconsin?    Click here for the Nurse Practice Act   prepared by the Wisconsin Dept. of Safety and Professional Services.  Look for the various regulations (laws) that apply to the nursing profession, in particular, Chapter N6-Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses, and Chapter N7-Rules of ConductAlso click here for information about citing the Nurse Practice Act in APA format.

Link to OSHA Safety Standards for Healthcare Facilities that apply to hospitals and medical clinics. And here are the OSHA Safety Standards for Nursing Homes and Other Personal Care Facilities.

What is OBRA? Omnibus Budget  Reconciliation Act of 1987 or simply OBRA ‘87 is formally known as the Federal Nursing Home Reform Act.  This federal legislation created a set of national minimum standards of care and rights for people living in certified nursing facilities.  This link will take you to the website of the National Long-Term Care Ombudsman National Resource Center.  Scroll down and look for the Nursing Home Reform Law of 1987-Summary.

543-103 Nursing: Pharmacology

Researching a disease or medication? Preparing medication sheets?  Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

Resources for pathophysiology papers include the ProQuest Health & Medicine Ebook Collection search for books about diseases and disorders, care plans, drug guides, and nursing practice.

543-104 Introduction to Clinical Care

Researching a disease or medication? Preparing medication sheets?  Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

Need articles or case studies from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.

543-105 Nursing: Health Alterations

Researching a disease or medication?   Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

Also, use your textbook, Medical-Surgical Nursing:Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems (Lewis).

543-106 Nursing Health Promotion

For Journal Club click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.

For your APA papers, click on the APA Help tab above to link to an APA template, examples of APA citations, and a sample paper.

543-107 Nursing Care Across the Lifespan

For your weekly clinical assignments about diseases and medications, use Micromedex.  

Looking for nursing journal articles about cultural care of patients?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases. 

Finally, use the links below to online resources for information on cultural awareness and transcultural nursing:

543-108 Nursing: Introduction to Clinical Care Management

Need articles from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals. 

Researching a disease or medication?   Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

Resources for pathophysiology papers include the ProQuest Health & Medicine Ebook Collection, search for books about diseases and disorders, care plans, drug guides, and nursing practice, including the Davis Drug Guide.

543-109 & 543-113 Nursing Complex Health Alterations I & II

Need articles or case studies from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.  Be sure to use articles within the past five (5) years only.

Researching a disease or medication?   Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

543-110 Nursing: Mental Health Community Concepts

Need articles from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals. 

Need streaming video content? Check out the Films On Demand database. See the database link below. 

Need help with APA citation and format? Click APA Help tab above for examples and an APA Template in Microsoft Word.

543-111 Nursing: Intermediate Clinical Practice

Need articles or case studies from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.  Be sure to use articles within the past five (5) years only.

Researching a disease or medication?   Use Micromedex to access evidence-based content for medication management, disease and condition management, toxicology, and patient education. Type a disease or drug in the search box. Disease results include diagnosis criteria, treatment, and drugs, including drug properties, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications, and dosages.

543-114 Nursing: Management and Professional Concepts

Looking for the Nurse Practice Act for Wisconsin?    Click here for the Nurse Practice Act   prepared by the Wisconsin Dept. of Safety and Professional Services.  Look for the various regulations (laws) that apply to the nursing profession, in particular, Chapter N6-Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses, and Chapter N7-Rules of Conduct.  Also click here for information about citing the Nurse Practice Act in APA format.

Need articles from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.  Use articles from and about the United States and within the last five (5) years only.  OVID contains only journals published in the U.S. 

Need help with APA citation and format? Click APA Help tab above for examples and an APA Template in Microsoft Word.

543-115 Nursing: Advanced Clinical Practice

Need articles from nursing journals?  Click on the Find Articles tab above and search the OVID, CINAHL, or OJIN databases.  All are collections of articles from nursing journals.  Be sure to use articles within the past five (5) years only.

Types of Nursing Papers

Case Study:  “A research method involving a thorough, in-depth analysis of an individual, group, institution, or other social unit” (Polit & Beck, 2006, p. 496). A typical case study follows a procedure, a patient (or group of patients), a drug (and its effects), or assessment of a patient.  Definition from:  Polit, D. F., & Beck, C. T. (2006). Essentials of nursing research: Methods, appraisal, and utilization (6th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Evidence-based Research Article:  “A document summarizing the main features of a study, including the research question, the methods used to address it, the findings, and the interpretation of the findings” (Polit & Beck, 2006, p. 509).  Evidence-based research reports can be found in most peer-reviewed journals.   Definition from:  Polit, D. F., & Beck, C. T. (2006). Essentials of nursing research: Methods, appraisal, and utilization (6th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Research Paper:  Please follow this link for a definition and many helpful hints on writing a Research Paper:  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/658/02/