Sorting Things Out: classification and its consequences by
A revealing and surprising look at how classification systems can shape both worldviews and social interactions.What do a seventeenth-century mortality table (whose causes of death include "fainted in a bath," "frighted," and "itch"); the identification of South Africans during apartheid as European, Asian, colored, or black; and the separation of machine- from hand-washables have in common? All are examples of classification-the scaffolding of information infrastructures. In Sorting Things Out, Geoffrey C. Bowker and Susan Leigh Star explore the role of categories and standards in shaping the modern world. In a clear and lively style, they investigate a variety of classification systems, including the International Classification of Diseases, the Nursing Interventions Classification, race classification under apartheid in South Africa, and the classification of viruses and of tuberculosis. The authors emphasize the role of invisibility in the process by which classification orders human interaction. They examine how categories are made and kept invisible, and how people can change this invisibility when necessary. They also explore systems of classification as part of the built information environment. Much as an urban historian would review highway permits and zoning decisions to tell a city's story, the authors review archives of classification design to understand how decisions have been made. Sorting Things Out has a moral agenda, for each standard and category valorizes some point of view and silences another. Standards and classifications produce advantage or suffering. Jobs are made and lost; some regions benefit at the expense of others. How these choices are made and how we think about that process are at the moral and political core of this work. The book is an important empirical source for understanding the building of information infrastructures.
The Accidental Taxonomist by
"The Accidental Taxonomist is the most comprehensive guide available to the art and science of building information taxonomies. Heather Hedden-a leading taxonomy expert and instructor-walks readers through the process, displaying her trademark ability to present highly technical information in straightforward, comprehensive English. In this fully revised third edition, Hedden adds an entirely new chapter on ontologies, emphasizes the SKOS model of concepts over the traditional thesaurus model of terms, and provides new insights into taxonomy devel-opment techniques. She presents fresh survey data; new screenshots and examples; and updated information on software, career opportunities, and resources for taxonomists. Drawing on numerous real-world examples, she explains how to create concepts and relationships, design taxonomy struc-tures, select taxonomy management software, create taxonomies for manual vs. automated tagging, plan and manage taxonomy projects, adapt taxono-mies to various user interfaces, and more"--
The Organization of Information, 4th Edition by
This fourth edition provides an updated look at information organization, featuring coverage of the Semantic Web, linked data, and EAC-CPF; new metadata models such as IFLA-LRM and RiC; and new perspectives on RDA and its implementation. This latest edition of The Organization of Information is a key resource for anyone in the beginning stages of their LIS career as well as longstanding professionals and paraprofessionals seeking accurate, clear, and up-to-date guidance on information organization activities across the discipline. The book begins with a historical look at information organization methods, covering libraries, archives, museums, and online settings. It then addresses the types of retrieval tools used throughout the discipline--catalogs, finding aids, indexes, bibliographies, and search engines--before describing the functionality of systems, explaining the basic principles of system design, and defining how they affect information organization. The principles and functionality of metadata is next, with coverage of the types, functions, tools, and models (particularly FRBR, IFLA-LRM, RDF) and how encoding works for use and sharing--for example, MARC, XML schemas, and linked data approaches. The latter portion of the resource describes specific activities related to the creation of metadata for resources. These chapters offer an overview of the major issues, challenges, and standards used in the information professions, addressing topics such as resource description (including standards found in RDA, DACS, and CCO), access points, authority control, subject analysis, controlled vocabularies--notably LCSH, MeSH, Sears, and AAT--and categorization systems such as DDC and LCC. Provides an essential overview of information organization--a central activity in library and information science--that describes approaches to organizing in libraries, archives, museums, online settings, indexing services, and other environments Newly revised and updated to reflect changes in cataloging rules, address new standards, and introduce upcoming changes Expands the scope of content relating to information organization in non-library settings Features vocabulary and acronym lists at the end of each chapter to help readers stay abreast of new terminology
Cataloguing and Classification: an introduction to AACR2, RDA, DDC, LCC, LCSH and MARC 21 standards by
Cataloguing and Classification introduces concepts and practices in cataloguing and classification, and common library standards. The book introduces and analyzes the principles and structures of library catalogues, including the application of AACR2, RDA, DDC, LCC, LCSH and MARC 21 standards, and conceptual models such as ISBD, FRBR and FRAD. The text also introduces DC, MODS, METS, EAD and VRA Core metadata schemes for annotating digital resources.
Cataloging and Classification: an introduction by
The fourth edition of the late Lois Mai Chan's classic Cataloging and Classification covers the analysis and representation of methods used in describing, organizing, and providing access to resources made available in or through libraries. Since the last edition published in 2007, there have been dramatic changes in cataloging systems from the Library of Congress. The most notable being the shift from AACR2 to Resource Description and Access (RDA) as the new standard developed by the Library of Congress. With the help of the coauthor, Athena Salaba, this text is modified throughout to conform to the new standard. Retaining the overall outline of the previous edition, this text presents the essence of library cataloging and classification in terms of three basic functions: descriptive cataloging, subject access, and classification. Within this framework, all chapters have been rewritten to incorporate the changes that have occurred during the interval between the third and fourth editions. In each part, the historical development and underlying principles of the retrieval mechanism at issue are treated first, because these are considered essential to an understanding of cataloging and classification. Discussion and examples of provisions in the standards and tools are then presented in order to illustrate the operations covered in each chapter. Divided into five parts--a general overview; record production and structure, encoding formats, and metadata records; RDA; subject access and controlled vocabularies; and the organization of library resources--each part of the book begins with a list of the standards and tools used in the preparation and processing of that part of the cataloging record covered, followed by suggested background readings selected to help the reader gain an overview of the subject to be presented. This book is the standard text for the teaching and understanding of cataloging and classification.
Cataloging Library Resources: an introduction by
While there are many cataloging texts, very few are written specifically for library support staff. This is the one and only book purposefully aligned with the new American Library Association - Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) competency standards for Cataloging and Classification. Written in clear language by someone who teaches cataloging in a library support staff program and featuring practical examples, Cataloging Library Resources: An Introduction will help library support staff become effective catalogers. Other books on this topic are written for professional librarians rather than support staff. And although 85% of library support staff do not hold professional degrees, many are expected to do the complex and technical work of catalogers. This book provides many examples that support staff can use to learn how to catalog all types of library print, media, and digital materials using the most up-to-date Library of Congress standards. Using this handbook as a guide, readers will be able to perform the ALA-LSSC cataloging and classification competencies and the new RDA, FRBR, and BIBFRAME standards listed below: - Apply and manage the appropriate processes, computer technology, and equipment for cataloging and classification. - Apply principles of Resource Description and Access (RDA) and the Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR) when creating cataloging records. - Apply principles of the Bibliographic Framework Initiative (BIBFRAME) and utilize the BIBFRAME model to create cataloging records. - Use the basic cataloging and classification tools, both print and online, including bibliographic utilities and format standards. - Understand the value of authority control and its basic principles, and can identify and apply appropriate access points for personal names, corporate bodies, series, and subjects. - Explain the value and advantages of cooperative or collaborative cataloging practices to enhance services. - Know the basics of standard metadata formats and cataloging rules to select, review, and edit catalog records, and to generate metadata in various formats. - And more
Introduction to Cataloging and Classification, 11th Edition by
A new edition of this best-selling textbook reintroduces the topic of library cataloging from a fresh, modern perspective. Not many books merit an eleventh edition, but this popular text does. Newly updated, Introduction to Cataloging and Classification provides an introduction to descriptive cataloging based on contemporary standards, explaining the basic tenets to readers without previous experience, as well as to those who merely want a better understanding of the process as it exists today. The text opens with the foundations of cataloging, then moves to specific details and subject matter such as Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR), Functional Requirements for Authority Data (FRAD), the International Cataloging Principles (ICP), and RDA. Unlike other texts, the book doesn't presume a close familiarity with the MARC bibliographic or authorities formats; ALA's Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2nd Edition, revised (AACR2R); or the International Standard Bibliographic Description (ISBD). Subject access to library materials is covered in sufficient depth to make the reader comfortable with the principles and practices of subject cataloging and classification. In addition, the book introduces MARC, BIBFRAME, and other approaches used to communicate and display bibliographic data. Discussions of formatting, presentation, and administrative issues complete the book; questions useful for review and study appear at the end of each chapter. Delineates the new cataloging landscape Shares a principles-based perspective An introductory text for beginners and intermediate students Emphasizes descriptive and subject cataloging, as well as format-neutral cataloging Covers new cataloging rules and RDA
Introduction to Indexing and Abstracting, 4th Edition by
Successful information access in the digital information age requires robust systems of indexing and abstracting. This book provides a complete introduction to the subject that covers the many recent changes in the field. While the basic tenets of indexing and abstracting remain the same as in previous decades, the evolution of information and communication technology in the 21st century necessarily changes many aspects of the use--and organization--of information in society. This fourth edition of Introduction to Indexing and Abstracting examines the primary tools for organizing information, addressing fundamental concepts such as the nature of information, the organization of information, vocabulary control, types of indexes and abstracts, evaluation of indexing, and the use of the latest technologies. The book presents information in four sections that covers topics in a logical, sequential order: Foundations, Applications, Techniques, and Professional Practice. A unique resource that covers all the areas of indexing and abstracting in the digital information age, this text will benefit practicing librarians and indexers, students of library and information science, and educators in the area of information organization, as well as those considering indexing and abstracting as a career option. Supplies current and extensive coverage of the field of indexing and abstracting Provides practical examples of the procedures for indexing and abstracting Includes numerous resource lists helpful for practitioners as well as students
Introduction to Modern Information Retrieval by
The recently revised third edition of this highly regarded text blends traditional theories, techniques and tools with coverage of cutting-edge advancements and sophisticated new technologies in information retrieval (IR). Unique in its scope, author G.G. Chowdhury's exhaustive guide spans the whole spectrum of this rapidly expanding field, including: * database technology * bibliographic formats * cataloging and metadata * subject analysis and representation * automatic indexing and file organization * vocabulary control * abstracts and indexing * searching and retrieval models * user interfaces * evaluation of IR user needs * online database search services * multimedia IR * mark-up languages * web and intelligent IR * natural language processing systems * IR in digital libraries There is also a new, detailed chapter on citation indexing, along with insight on emerging trends in the field. Illustrated with many examples and extensively referenced, this is an indispensable tool for professionals and LIS students eager to broaden their skill sets and keep up with the latest developments in information storage and retrieval.
Beginning XML by
A complete update covering the many advances to the XML language The XML language has become the standard for writing documents on the Internet and is constantly improving and evolving. This new edition covers all the many new XML-based technologies that have appeared since the previous edition four years ago, providing you with an up-to-date introductory guide and reference. Packed with real-world code examples, best practices, and in-depth coverage of the most important and relevant topics, this authoritative resource explores both the advantages and disadvantages of XML and addresses the most current standards and uses of XML. Features the most updated content built on audience feedback from the previous edition as well as the vast knowledge from XML developer teams Boasts new chapters on RELAX NG and Schematron, XML functionality in databases, LINQ to XML, Jabber and XMLPP, XHTML, HTML5, and more Offers in-depth coverage on extracting data from XML and updated material on Web Services Beginning XML, Fifth Edition delivers the most important aspects of XML in regard to what it is, how it works, what technologies surround it, and how it can best be used in a variety of situations.
Metadata by
This benchmark text is back in a new edition thoroughly updated to incorporate developments and changes in metadata and related domains. Zeng and Qin provide a solid grounding in the variety and interrelationships among different metadata types, offering a comprehensive look at the metadata schemas that exist in the world of library and information science and beyond. Readers will gain knowledge and an understanding of key topics such as the fundamentals of metadata, including principles of metadata, structures of metadata vocabularies, and metadata descriptions; metadata building blocks, from modeling to defining properties, from designing application profiles to implementing value vocabularies, and from specification generating to schema encoding, illustrated with new examples; best practices for metadata as linked data, the new functionality brought by implementing the linked data principles, and the importance of knowledge organization systems; resource metadata services, quality measurement, and interoperability approaches; research data management concepts like the FAIR principles, metadata publishing on the web and the recommendations by the W3C in 2017, related Open Science metadata standards such as Data Catalog Vocabulary (DCAT) version 2, and metadata-enabled reproducibility and replicability of research data; standards used in libraries, archives, museums, and other information institutions, plus existing metadata standards' new versions, such as the EAD 3, LIDO 1.1, MODS 3.7, DC Terms 2020 release coordinating its ISO 15396-2:2019, and Schema.org's update in responding to the pandemic; and newer, trending forces that are impacting the metadata domain, including entity management, semantic enrichment for the existing metadata, mashup culture such as enhanced Wikimedia contents, knowledge graphs and related processes, semantic annotations and analysis for unstructured data, and supporting digital humanities (DH) through smart data. A supplementary website provides additional resources, including examples, exercises, main takeaways, and editable files for educators and trainers.
Metadata for Information Management and Retrieval: understanding metadata and its use by
This new and updated second edition of a classic text provides a thought provoking introduction to metadata for all library and information students and professionals. Metadata for Information Management and Retrieval has been fully revised to bring it up to date with new technologies and standards. It builds on the concept of metadata through an exploration of its purposes and uses as well as considering the main aspects of metadata management. This new edition, containing new chapters on 'Very Large Data Collections' and the 'Politics and Ethics of Metadata', assesses the current theory and practice of metadata and examines key developments in terms of both policy and technology. Coverage includes: defining, describing and expressing metadata data modelling metadata and information retrieval big data, linked data, open data repositories, social media and research data collections metadata in information governance: compliance, risk and information security managing intellectual property rights the politics of metadata: ethics, power and money. This book is essential reading for library and information students at undergraduate and postgraduate level and will also be useful reading for LIS professionals looking for an accessible introduction to metadata.
Linked Data for the Perplexed Librarian by
Linked data has become a punchline in certain circles of the GLAM (galleries, libraries, archives, and museums) community, derided as a much-hyped project that will ultimately never come to fruition. But the fact is, linked data is already happening now, evident in projects from Big Tech and the Wikimedia Foundation as well as the web pages of library service platforms. The goal of exposing cultural institutions' records to the web is as important as ever--but for the non-technically minded, linked data can feel like a confusing morass of abstraction, jargon, and acronyms. Get conversant in linked data with this basic introduction from the Association of Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS). The book's expert contributors summarize the origins of linked data, from early computers and the creation of the World Wide Web through RDF; walk readers through the practical, everyday side of creating, identifying, and representing semantically rich linked data using as an example the funk classic Mothership Connection album from the band Parliament; explain the concept of ontologies; explore such linked data projects as Open Graph, DBpedia, BIBFRAME, and Schema.org's Bib Extension; offer suggested solo and group entry-level projects for linked data-curious librarians who wish to dive deeper; and provide a handy glossary and links to additional resources. This valuable primer on linked data will enable readers at any level of experience to get quickly up to speed on this important subject.
XML for Catalogers and Metadata Librarians by
This book provides a foundation of knowledge for catalogers, metadata librarians, and library school students on the Extensible Markup Language (XML)--one of the most commonly listed qualifications in today's cataloger and metadata librarian job postings. How are today's librarians to manage and describe the ever-expanding volumes of resources, in both digital and print formats? The use of XML in cataloging and metadata workflows can improve metadata quality, the consistency of cataloging workflows, and adherence to standards. This book is intended to enable current and future catalogers and metadata librarians to progress beyond a bare surface-level acquaintance with XML, thereby enabling them to integrate XML technologies more fully into their cataloging workflows. Building on the wealth of work on library descriptive practices, cataloging, and metadata, XML for Catalogers and Metadata Librarians explores the use of XML to serialize, process, share, and manage library catalog and metadata records. The authors' expert treatment of the topic is written to be accessible to those with little or no prior practical knowledge of or experience with how XML is used. Readers will gain an educated appreciation of the nuances of XML and grasp the benefit of more advanced and complex XML techniques as applied to applications relevant to catalogers and metadata librarians. Covers XML from basic concepts, such as core syntax and grammar, to advanced topics, such as transformation and schema design Provides an in-depth look at metadata standards used in the library domain, including MARC, Dublin Core, MODS, and others Introduces available XML tools, utilities, and XML related technologies Includes case studies that draw from real-world applications that show how XML is used in library cataloging and metadata workflows
Coding with XML for Efficiencies in Cataloging and Metadata: practical applications of XSD, XSLT, and XQuery by
Even experienced catalogers and copy catalogers who know their way around the tags and strings of a MARC record need guidance when creating metadata for sharing bibliographic records or digital collections on the web. Likewise, coders or new librarians coming from iSchool or software backgrounds need examples of how to use XLML or XSLT scripting with library records. That's where this new handbook from the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) comes in. Librarians working in their code editors will want this resource, with its 58 sample coding examples, at their side. It covers essential background information, with a quick review of XML basics; transforming XML metadata in HTML; schema languages and workflows for XML validation; an introduction to XPath and XSLT; cataloging workflows using XSLT; the basics of XQuery, including use cases and XQuery expressions and functions; and working with strings and sequences, including regular expressions. This handbook will help teach cataloguers of all levels of experience how to code for efficiencies.
RDA Essentials by
This concise guide to cataloging with RDA: Resource Description and Access specifically hones in on the needs of those seeking a simplified path to creating basic RDA records. First describing foundational RDA concepts and vocabulary, Brenndorfer then distills RDA instructions, matching them to cataloging practice in easy-to-follow language. Current with RDA instructions through the April 2015 update to RDA, this guide makes an excellent primer while also serving as a bridge to more complex cataloging. It's an ideal resource for: Small libraries that require standard cataloging but don't need all the details of structure and content of the full RDA LIS students who need an introduction to cataloging Paraprofessionals seeking a ready reference for copy cataloging Experienced catalogers needing a quick summary of RDA practice A handy offline access point for solo and part-time catalogers, Brennndorfer's guide also supports training and classroom use in any size institution.
Introducing RDA: a guide to the basics after 3R by
Since Oliver's guide was first published in 2010, thousands of LIS students, records managers, and catalogers and other library professionals have relied on its clear, plainspoken explanation of RDA: Resource Description and Access as their first step towards becoming acquainted with the cataloging standard. Now, reflecting the changes to RDA after the completion of the 3R Project, Oliver brings her Special Report up to date. This essential primer concisely explains what RDA is, its basic features, and the main factors in its development; describes RDA's relationship to the international standards and models that continue to influence its evolution; provides an overview of the latest developments, focusing on the impact of the 3R Project, the results of aligning RDA with IFLA's Library Reference Model (LRM), and the outcomes of internationalization; illustrates how information is organized in the post 3R Toolkit and explains how to navigate through this new structure; and discusses how RDA continues to enable improved resource discovery both in traditional and new applications, including the linked data environment.
The RDA Workbook: learning the basics of Resource Description and Access by
Whether a library catalogs its own materials or not, librarians still need to have some understanding of RDA. Designed to be used by academic, public, and school librarians, this is the perfect introduction. RDA (Resource Description and Access) was released in March 2013 and catalogers are busy trying to understand and implement the new protocols. This book will help. Unlike the RDA training materials prepared for seasoned catalogers by the Library of Congress and others, the The RDA Workbook: Learning the Basics of Resource Description and Access uses tried-and-true methods to make RDA clear even to those who have little or no previous cataloging knowledge. The workbook can be used by an individual or to teach others in staff training sessions, presentations, or LIS courses. It discusses the theoretical framework of the cataloging code; details the steps necessary to create a bibliographic for books, videos, and other formats; and shows librarians how to read and interrupt authority records for persons, families, corporate bodies, works, and expressions. Finally, the workbook suggests strategies for implementing RDA. Focuses on the new RDA rules and conventions and their implementation, particularly in smaller libraries where there are no professional catalogers Presents FRBR and other aspects of RDA's theoretical framework in understandable terms Features a step-by-step guide to creating bibliographic records for print and electronic books, videos, and other formats Includes quick guides, exercises, a glossary of terms, and a list of additional resources
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu