Collection Management Basics, 7th Edition by Margaret Zarnosky Saponaro; G. Edward Evans
If the heart of the library is its collection, this textbook provides the keys to the heart of your library. Alongside standards of basic principles and processes, you'll find practical guidance on everything from acquisitions to preservation. Managing collections in today's libraries is more complicated and challenging than ever. Electronic formats, new options for collaboration and sharing, and the drive to use data for evaluation purposes are just a few of the changes now driving collection management. This updated edition of a classic text addresses changes in the field and provides a thorough overview of what collection development specialists now need to know to effectively and efficiently manage processes that range from selection and assessment to sharing resources, handling challenges, weeding, and preservation. Readers will find increased coverage of technical services, intellectual freedom and censorship, and collection policy development, as well as budget development and tracking, joint purchasing, and negotiating with vendors. Updates on e-resources, user needs assessment (including data visualization), and disaster management, along with suggestions for further reading, are also included. Engagingly written and easy to understand, this is a valuable text for students preparing for careers in public, academic, school, and special libraries. It will additionally serve as a training resource and professional refresher for practitioners. Provides faculty and students with a thorough, up-to-date overview of all aspects of the collection development process Helps collection development librarians to address new challenges such as online resources, how to use new tools for assessing your library's collection, developing a budget, and negotiating with vendors Engages readers and is easy to read, with real-life examples to clarify principles and concepts May be used as a text for LIS courses on collection development as well as a resource for training and personal or professional enrichment
Call Number: Racine Z 687 E9.18 2019
Collection Management Basics, 7th Edition by
If the heart of the library is its collection, this textbook provides the keys to the heart of your library. Alongside standards of basic principles and processes, you'll find practical guidance on everything from acquisitions to preservation. Managing collections in today's libraries is more complicated and challenging than ever. Electronic formats, new options for collaboration and sharing, and the drive to use data for evaluation purposes are just a few of the changes now driving collection management. This updated edition of a classic text addresses changes in the field and provides a thorough overview of what collection development specialists now need to know to effectively and efficiently manage processes that range from selection and assessment to sharing resources, handling challenges, weeding, and preservation. Readers will find increased coverage of technical services, intellectual freedom and censorship, and collection policy development, as well as budget development and tracking, joint purchasing, and negotiating with vendors. Updates on e-resources, user needs assessment (including data visualization), and disaster management, along with suggestions for further reading, are also included. Engagingly written and easy to understand, this is a valuable text for students preparing for careers in public, academic, school, and special libraries. It will additionally serve as a training resource and professional refresher for practitioners. Provides faculty and students with a thorough, up-to-date overview of all aspects of the collection development process Helps collection development librarians to address new challenges such as online resources, how to use new tools for assessing your library's collection, developing a budget, and negotiating with vendors Engages readers and is easy to read, with real-life examples to clarify principles and concepts May be used as a text for LIS courses on collection development as well as a resource for training and personal or professional enrichment
Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management by
In this sweeping revision of a text that has become an authoritative standard, expert instructor and librarian Peggy Johnson addresses the art of controlling and updating library collections, whether located locally or accessed remotely.
Working with Library Collections: an introduction for support staff by
Working with Collections: An Introduction for Support Staff deals with the technical service aspect of library work- the processes that put a book on the shelf or online. It provides an introduction to publishers, vendors, preparing items for use, and caring for items in the collections and is both a text for professors who teach in library support staff programs and their students, and an introductory manual for support staff who work in libraries. This material is written in clear language with practical examples of how performance can contribute to exemplary library service. It is aligned with the ALA support staff standards and prepares library support staff to: -Know how to use an integrated library system and other appropriate online tools. -Know the basic principles of collection development and management. -Assist with decisions regarding selection, de-selection, retention and replacement of all types of library resources. -Know the basic principles, and can apply, the appropriate procedures to the processes that provide users with access to a wide variety of content. -Know the various ways in which content, in multiple formats, is produced and distributed to libraries. -Understand the value of resource sharing agreements and apply them to collection decisions. -Know and use the recognized standard evaluative sources to assist with collection development. -Know the principles and basic practices regarding the preservation of library resources. -Apply appropriate methods and techniques for accurate preparation of library resources -Explain and apply policies regarding library collections.
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu