How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Framing Health Care Instruction: an information literacy handbook for the health sciences by
Framing Healthcare instruction: An Information Literacy Handbook for the Health Sciences is a step-by-step guide to integrating the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy into health sciences librarianship. Although this topic has been touched on briefly in previous publications, this book is dedicated exclusively to the unique considerations of the health sciences. With over fifty case studies describing explicit lesson plans and assessments, health sciences librarians who may be new to the Framework or are looking for ready-made lesson plans will find this guide easy to navigate and to apply to their own educational sessions. Multiple disciplines are covered, including: nursing, medicine, allied health, veterinary medicine, and more. In addition to the practical application of the case studies, the books covers in depth each part of the Framework and how it relates to students in the health science
The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction by
Community colleges are a cornerstone of higher education and serve the unique needs of the communities in which they reside. In 2019, community colleges accounted for 41 percent of all undergraduate students in the United States. Community college librarians are engaged in meaningful work designing and delivering library programs and services that meet the needs of their diverse populations and support student learning. The Community College Library series is meant to lift the voices of community college librarians and highlight their creativity, tenacity, and commitment to students. The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction collects research, programs, and new approaches to reference and instruction implemented by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including using race-centered and trauma-informed practices in the reference interview; incorporating online workshops into an existing information literacy program; and using student-driven pedagogy to navigate the early stages of research. This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are meeting the information and research needs of their college population both in person and remotely, all while providing a safe, inclusive space for students to explore and learn.
Maximizing the One-Shot: connecting library instruction with the curriculum by
Designed for librarians who offer library instruction within the constraints of the hour-long one-shot, this book proposes a method for redesigning one-shot instruction that is both realistic and integrated into the larger curriculum. Working with faculty teams from academic departments, the authors used the collaborative Lesson Study method to redesign undergraduate research instruction. They describe how to winnow the one-shot down to a manageable active learning experience while simultaneously augmenting it with extra-sessional prerequisites and learning activities. They also discuss how to conceptualize the role of the one-shot within a course, a curriculum, and the larger information literacy goals of the institution. This book offers customizable strategies, sample lesson plans, and generalized observations based on the experiences of the authors. Maximizing the One-Shot: Connecting Library Instruction with the Curriculum covers the following aspects of one-shot development: -Understanding the role of the one-shot institutionally and its limits. -Setting realistic goals. -The Lesson Study approach. -Collaborating with departmental faculty. -Assessment of the one-shot. -Supporting the one-shot with additional materials. -Expanding one-shot development to other departments and programs. In addition, the book provides interviews with collaborating faculty members of academic departments who have partnered with library faculty.
Teaching Technology in Libraries: creative ideas for training staff, patrons and students by
Libraries are charged with fostering new skills and capabilities, a challenging task in an era of rapid technological change. Developing new ways of teaching and learning--within budget and time constraints--is the key to keeping up-to-date. Written by librarians, this collection of new essays describes an array of technology outreach and instruction programs--from the theoretical to the practical--for public, academic and school libraries, based on case studies and discussions of methodology. Content includes out of the box lessons, outreach successes and technology instruction programs applicable to patrons and staff at public, academic and school libraries.
Combating fake news in the digital age by 
The One-Shot Library Instruction Survival Guide by
Previously named by Library Journal "a terrific resource for instruction librarians at all experience levels," the updated third edition will foster students' critical thinking skills while empowering librarians to become better, more confident teachers. When done right, one-shot library instruction allows you to build solid relationships with faculty while also making positive first impressions with students. Good pedagogy, collaboration with faculty, assessment, and reflection are all imminently possible in the one-shot. So are incorporating the big ideas of the ACRL Framework. This new edition of a trusted resource will guide you in active, student-centered one-shots that connect to courses' learning outcomes. Demonstrated using vignettes that share teaching experiences drawn from librarians and instructors in the field, you'll get succinct, hands-on advice on such topics as why threshold concepts are well suited to one-shot instruction; online instruction-specific engagement strategies and talking points; a one-shot version of curriculum mapping to help you prioritize; quick and easy activities to work into sessions; how to mix and match the three types of instruction best suited to one-shots; losing the list, ditching the script, and other strategies for student-centered teaching; common classroom management mishaps and what to do about them; talking points for the instruction interview; how and when to say no; and 5 ways to use assessment to improve your instructional style.
E-Learning in Libraries: best practices by
If libraries are to remain centers for lifelong learning, then that learning must increasingly be e-learning. But, where can librarians turn for the best ideas and inspiration on how to implement e-learning programs? This book features nine exemplary programs set in all types of libraries. You'll find proven, successful ways of introducing online credit-based information literacy instruction, innovative methods for teaching critical thinking skills online, ways of using open source software in interactive learning, step-by-step guidance for instructional screencasting, ways to work with faculty on e-learning solutions through streaming video, and how a school library used e-learning to teach about the Holocaust. These stellar models offer solutions and feature the aspects you and your staff need because they recognize the problems you face. There's plenty here for all libraries to grab on to and implement to move learning from inside the library to where your users live and work.
Fake News and Alternative Facts: information literacy in a post-truth era by
Listen to a podcast with the author now! Talk of so-called fake news, what it is and what it isn't, is front and center across the media landscape, with new calls for the public to acquire appropriate research and evaluation skills and become more information savvy. But none of this is new for librarians and information professionals, particularly for those who teach information literacy. Cooke, a Library Journal Mover & Shaker, believes that the current situation represents a golden opportunity for librarians to impart these important skills to patrons, regardless of their age or experience. In this Special Report, she demonstrates how. Readers will learn more about the rise of fake news, particularly those information behaviors that have perpetuated its spread; discover techniques to identify fake news, especially online; and explore methods to help library patrons of all ages think critically about information, teaching them ways to separate fact from fiction. Information literacy is a key skill for all news consumers, and this Special Report shows how librarians can make a difference by helping patrons identify misinformation.
Creative Instructional Design: practical application for librarians by 
Information Literacy Instruction That Works: a guide to teaching by discipline and student population by
Information literacy and library instruction are at the heart of the academic library's mission. But how do you bring that instruction to an increasingly diverse student body and an increasingly varied spectrum of majors? In this updated, expanded new second edition, featuring more than 75% new content, Ragains and 16 other library instructors share their best practices for reaching out to today's unique users. Readers will find strategies and techniques for teaching college and university freshmen, community college students, students with disabilities, and those in distance learning programs. Alongside sample lesson plans, presentations, brochures, worksheets, handouts, and evaluation forms, Ragains and his contributors offer proven approaches to teaching students in the most popular programs of study, including: English Literature, Art and Art History, Film Studies, History, Psychology, Science, Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Hospitality, Business, Music, Anthropology, and Engineering. Coverage of additional special topic, including legal information for non-law students, government information, and patent searching, make this a complete guide to information literacy instruction.
Designing Online Information Literacy Games Students Want to Play by
Designing Online Information Literacy Games Students Want to Play sets the record straight with regard to the promise of games for motivating and teaching students in educational environments. The authors draw on their experience designing the BiblioBouts information literacy game, deploying it in dozens of college classrooms across the country, and evaluating its effectiveness for teaching students how to conduct library research. The multi-modal evaluation of BiblioBouts involved qualitative and quantitative data collection methods and analyses. Drawing on the evaluation, the authors describe how students played this particular information literacy game and make recommendations for the design of future information literacy games. You'll learn how the game's design evolved in response to student input and how students played the game including their attitudes about playing games to develop information literacy skills and concepts specifically and playing educational games generally. The authors describe how students benefited as a result of playing the game. Drawing from their own first-hand experience, research, and networking, the authors feature best practices that educators and game designers in LIS specifically and other educational fields generally need to know so that they build classroom games that students want to play. Best practices topics covered include pre-game instruction, rewards, feedback, the ability to review/change actions, ideal timing, and more. The final section of the book covers important concepts for future information literacy game design.
Teaching with Digital Badges: best practices for libraries by
Digital Badges are gaining traction in the education landscape, and librarians have been some of the leading pioneers at the forefront of this exciting new frontier. This book provides examples of how badges are being used to enhance and invigorate the teaching and assessment of information literacy. Chapters provide inspiration for teaching librarians interested in: -Providing an engaging experience for their students -Gaining insight into this growing innovative technology trend -Discovering how librarians are using badges to enhance their teaching -Forming meaningful collaborations with faculty and teachers -Developing knowledge about badge system design and badging platforms -Learning how badges can motivate, support, and celebrate learning achievements -Launching a badging project The book is divided into two sections. The first section explores the environment in which badges are being developed, in particular situating them within the current educational setting, and provides guidelines on how best to create a badging program. The second section details contributing authors' firsthand experiences creating, implementing, and refining digital badges and digital badging systems, in some cases collaborating with teachers and faculty. These chapters provide a wealth of ideas about using digital badges in academic and school libraries to engage and motivate students.
Humor and Information Literacy: practical techniques for library instruction by
Learn how to successfully employ practical techniques that infuse information literacy instruction with humor. How can humor be applied by academic librarians to better teach information literacy? And why is humor such an effective teaching tool? This book provides a cross-disciplinary review of the literature regarding use of humor in tertiary education settings, and specifically in library science; explains its effectiveness for capturing and maintaining student attention when covering necessary subjects; and presents the invaluable personal experiences of instruction librarians across North America who regularly use humor in the classroom. Humor and Information Literacy: Practical Techniques for Library Instruction addresses the subject in both a scholarly and a practical manner. The first section of the book contains original multi-disciplinary essays covering humor in the fields of communication theory, education, library science, psychology, and even stand-up comedy. The second section documents practical techniques that practicing librarians use to teach information literacy with humor, accompanied by commentary by the authors. Dozens of practical examples of teaching information literacy using humor Contributions from more than 30 professional academic librarians who share their methods of teaching information literacy using humor A multidisciplinary bibliography reflecting humor in the fields of communication theory, education, library science, performance theory, and psychology A webliography of funny YouTube clips relevant to libraries and information literacy
Volume 1: Research as Inquiry by 
Volume 2: Information Has Value by 
Volume 3: Searching as Strategic Exploration by 
Volume 4: Information Creation as a Process by 
Volume 5: Scholarship as Conversation by 
Volume 6: Authority is Constructed and Contextual by 
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu