The Complete Guide to Using Google in Libraries, Vols 1 & 2 by
Carol Smallwood's The Complete Guide to Using Google in Libraries, Volume 1: Instruction, Administration, and Staff Productivity explores how Google's suite of tools, from Google Docs (now Google Drive), Google Scholar, Hangout, Forms, and others made freely available to the Internet Community can be used by libraries to expand the role of digital operations in the management of library materials, to communicate with their patrons and collaborators, to exploit the resources on the Web, and many others. The book has 29 chapters organized into sections that focus on ways that Google s suite of tools can be applied to address problems in a specific area of library concern. The section headings are: Library Instruction for Users; Collaboration within and among libraries; Library Administration; Collection Management; and Library Productivity. In each topical area, the chapters show how librarians are taking advantage of these tools to change the way that their library works. All of this without the burden of an additional bill to pay. Through these carefully selected case studies from real libraries, you will be able to learn about the surprising and powerful potential that exists through Google tools to improve library operations."
Making Library Websites Accessible: a practical guide for librarians by
Every person has the right to access information and the right to succeed, regardless of their capabilities or the challenges they face. These challenges can be even more difficult when accessing information online. Libraries often adopt new web technologies in an effort to quickly and widely promote information access and education, but they must always be aware that not all patrons are able to access those technologies in the same manner and at the same level. Making Library Websites Accessible provides practical information on web accessibility, specific to the processes and concerns of libraries. It includes the basics of web accessibility standards, laws and regulations, as well as accessibility testing templates. Features include: -Real-life scenarios -Checklists for accessibility testing -Accessibility testing forms -Guidelines for negotiations with library vendors
Using Libguides to Enhance Library Services: A LITA Guide by
The easy-to-use tools in Springshare's LibGuides help you organize webpages, improve students' research experience and learning, and offer an online community of librarians sharing their work and ideas. Editors Dobbs, Sittler, and Cook have recruited expert contributors to address specific applications, creating a one-stop reference.
Library Automation: core concepts and practical systems analysis by
Recent advances in technology such as cloud computing, recent industry standards such as RFID, bibliographic standards like RDA and BIBFRAME, the increased adoption of open source integrated library systems (ILS), and continued shift in users' expectations have increased the complexity of the decision regarding ILS for all types of libraries. Recent advances in technology such as cloud computing, recent industry standards such as RFID, bibliographic standards like RDA and BIBFRAME, the increased adoption of open source integrated library systems (ILS), and continued shift in users' expectations have increased the complexity of the decision regarding ILS for all types of libraries. In a complete re-envisioning of the previous edition, Automating Media Centers and Small Libraries: A Microcomputer-Based Approach, Dania Bilal conceptualizes library automation in the Library Automation Life Cycle (LALC) that is informed by the systems development lifecycle (SDLC). She explains how the next-generation discovery services supported in the library services platforms (LSPs) provide a single point of access to library content in all types and formats, thereby offering a unified solution to managing library operations. The book covers methods of analyzing user requirements, describes how to structure these requirements in RFPs, and details proprietary and open-source integrated library systems (ILSs) and LSPs for school, public, special, and academic libraries. Up-to-date information is provided about ILS software installation and testing, software and hardware architecture such as single- and multi-tenant SaaS and Paas and IaaS, and usability assessment strategies for evaluating the ILS or LSP. The author concludes by describing what is likely coming next in the library automation arena. Addresses a key question: Should media centers and small libraries focus only on commercially available software, or would it be advantageous to choose open source software? Provides an in-depth treatment of the systems development lifecycle (SDLC) and a six-phase systems analysis and design approach Covers a wide range of topics, including open source software selection and evaluation, joining consortia, designing and developing in-house integrated automated library systems (ILS), usability principles and assessment methods, and project management
The Neal-Schuman Library Technology Companion: a basic guide for library staff by
This all-in-one guide helps readers contribute to improving institutional performance, boost productivity, and stay connected to the latest library technology topics and tools.
Library Information Systems, 2nd Edition by
Information systems are central to libraries, and managing information systems is critical to serving library communities. Both a textbook for LIS courses and a handbook for practitioners, this volume thoroughly addresses modern libraries' challenges of integrating information technology. Written by Joseph R. Matthews and Carson Block, both experts on library information systems, this book describes the evolution of library information systems, their enabling technologies, and today's dynamic IT marketplace. It explains specific technologies and related topics, including standards and standards organizations, telecommunications and networks, integrated library systems, electronic resource management systems, repositories, authentication and link verification, electronic resources, and nextgen library systems. Readers will also learn the latest about information systems management, covering technology planning, basic technology axioms, the impact of technology on library services, system selection and implementation, system usability, and general technology management. The final section considers current trends and future developments in LIS, including those related to mobile devices and apps as well as the growth of digital libraries. Covers all aspects of library information systems within a broad context Written to be easily understandable and informative to a wide readership, including LIS students, library administrators, and managers, regardless of technical background or knowledge Fully addresses current practice while also offering a glimpse into future trends in this quickly changing field, helping practitioners and future practitioners keep abreast of the field Perfectly suited as a text for courses in LIS and as an everyday reference for practitioners
Emerging Technologies: a primer for librarians by
Here's a one-stop snapshot of emerging technologies every librarian should know about and examples that illustrate how the technologies are being used in libraries today The e-book includes videos of interviews with librarians that are using them. The videos are available on a web site for people who purchase the print book. The first four chapters--Audio & Video, Self- and Micro-Publishing, Mobile Technology, and Crowdfunding--all look at older technologies reinvented and reimagined through significant advances in quality, scale, or hardware. Many libraries were already using these technologies in some way, and are now able to change and adapt those uses to meet current needs and take advantage of the latest improvements. The two next chapters look at new technologies: wearable technologies and the Internet of Things (simple but powerful computers that can be embedded into everyday objects and connected to controllers or data aggregation tools). The last two chapters--Privacy & Security and Keeping Up With Technology--are all-purpose topics that will continue to be affected by new developments in technology. Each of these chapters offers a brief overview of background information and current events, followed by a list of advantages and challenges to using these technologies in a library setting. The authors highlight the most useful or most well-known tools and devices, then specify how these technologies might be used in a library setting. Finally, they look at a variety of current examples from libraries in the United States and around the globe.
The Librarian's Introduction to Programming Languages by
The Librarian's Introduction to Programming Languages presents case studies and practical applications for using the top programming languages in library and information settings. While there are books and Web sites devoted to teaching programming, there are few works that address multiple programming languages or address the specific reasons why programming is a critical area of learning for library and information science professionals. There are many books on programming languages but no recent items directly written for librarians that span a variety of programs. Many practicing librarians see programming as something for IT people or beyond their capabilities. This book will help these librarians to feel comfortable discussion programming with others by providing an understanding of when the language might be useful, what is needed to make it work, and relevant tools to extend its application. Additionally, the inclusion of practical examples lets readers try a small "app" for the language. This also will assist readers who want to learn a language but are unsure of which language would be the best fit for them in terms of learning curve and application. Languages covered are: -JavaScript -PERL -PHP -SQL -Python -Ruby -C -C# -Java This book is designed to provide a basic working knowledge of each language presented, case studies which show the programming language used in real ways and resources for exploring each language in more detail.
Library Technology and Digital Resources: an introduction for support staff by
In the last decade library collections have rapidly evolved from a predominance of print books and journals to an ever growing mix of digital and print resources. Library patrons are predominately served by support staff that is expected to know how to help patrons select and use digital resources. Yet most library support staff (LSS) has not had training to become proficient in finding, using, and instructing others in the abundance of the digital resources of websites, databases, e-texts, digital libraries and their related technologies. Library Technology and Digital Resources: An Introduction for Support Staff is both a text for professors who teach in library support staff programs and an introductory reference manual for support staff who work in libraries. This book will guide the LSS to be able to: -Distinguish key features and enhancements found among vendors and providers of digital libraries, digital collections, databases, and e-texts; -Plan, budget, fund and write grants for digital resources; -Understand the complexity and options of licensing and usage agreements for digital resources; -Know copyright permissions and acceptable use guidelines for digital resources. -Understand the basic technologies that support library digital resources including network structures, software applications, and protocols; -Distinguish between directories and search engines as they relate to digital resources as well as be able to employ advance search skills effectively; -Explore the resources of global, national, and state digital libraries and their collections; -Use government databases and other digitized systems and information sources; -Find exemplary digital resources though other agencies such as museums, university collections and other sources that librarians can share with patrons. -Create local digital resources of primary and historical materials and artifacts with metadata and cataloging for searchable access. -Interpret meaning from library digital resources using visual literacy skills. -Promote library digital resources through a variety of means including social media and online options.
Teaching Technology in Libraries: creative ideas for training staff, patrons and students by
Libraries are charged with fostering new skills and capabilities, a challenging task in an era of rapid technological change. Developing new ways of teaching and learning--within budget and time constraints--is the key to keeping up-to-date. Written by librarians, this collection of new essays describes an array of technology outreach and instruction programs--from the theoretical to the practical--for public, academic and school libraries, based on case studies and discussions of methodology. Content includes out of the box lessons, outreach successes and technology instruction programs applicable to patrons and staff at public, academic and school libraries.
Spreadsheets for Librarians: getting results with Excel and Google Sheets by
Work smarter and save time with the librarian's guide to the hidden-in-plain-sight secrets of Excel, Sheets, and other types of spreadsheets. While some librarians have become very skilled at using the full power of Excel and Sheets to turn data into useful and valuable information, for many librarians the relevance of spreadsheets--and how to use them--is not necessarily obvious. This book demystifies Excel and other spreadsheets. Starting from basic concepts, the book progresses to advanced implementations important to librarians in such areas as collection management, including evaluation and benchmarking; research assessment through the creation of sophisticated bibliometric measures; and library design based on an analysis of patron behavior or the creation of a keyword map of physical collections. Real-life examples highlight a variety of techniques and shortcuts that can be immediately applied to libraries of all kinds. Spreadsheets for Librarians is a book for the desk, not only the library shelves. No prior knowledge of spreadsheets is needed, and readers can expect to learn skills that will enhance their reputation as information and data professionals. Illustrates spreadsheet techniques that are immediately applicable in a wide variety of library contexts Explains the potential of readily available data as a means to enhance individual and institutional performance in the library and information sector Helps librarians think like data and information specialists Showcases skills that are portable and independent of more narrowly-focused software packages Shows how to communicate more effectively with IT specialists
Making the Most of Your ILS: a user's guide to evaluating and optimizing library systems by
Systems administrators, librarians, and library staff will learn key principles and methods for securing their ILS and understand how to configure and optimize their library catalog by improving data management practices, streamlining existing workflows, and documenting their system's configuration. The integrated library system (ILS) plays a central role in every library's operations, but is your ILS optimized to ensure maximum productivity? Are you taking advantage of the features added since you implemented it? Walking readers through a wide-ranging ILS review, this book will help you ensure systems are properly configured, produce better documentation, and evaluate staff workflows. The authors--a director of collections and content and a director of user experience--created a comprehensive plan for reviewing an ILS, starting with planning the project and deciding whom to include. They discuss basic ILS security principles, including keeping patron data safe and the importance of reviewing staff permissions. After the basics, the authors go in-depth on reviewing codes and figuring out how different parts of an ILS work together as well as how to review those areas, and they offer ideas on how to stay up-to-date with your ILS, such as where to look for information on issues, updates, and new features. Several methods for analyzing and documenting workflows are also discussed. Come away with a better overall understanding of your integrated library system Understand the importance of regularly reviewing your system configuration and revisiting past decisions Learn how to increase the efficiency of your library by reviewing and optimizing existing workflows Gain a better understanding of system security, including how to protect patron data and system configuration from hacking and unauthorized access Learn how to provide better services and experiences to patrons through streamlined workflows and more secure data
Using Tablets and Apps in Libraries by
Over 52 million tablet devices were sold during the fourth quarter of 2012 and sales are predicted to continue to increase in years to come. These lightweight mobile computing devices are quickly becoming an integral part of patrons everyday lives. Libraries are responding by incorporating them into their programs and services. Using Tablets and App in Libraries outlines how libraries can support this new BYOD (bring your own device) culture including offering app events and instruction, installing mounted tablets within the library, offering tablet lending programs, initiating tablet training programs for staff, and ways to evaluate and use quality apps. Discover how you can implement a successful tablet program in your library. Through this comprehensive guide, readers will learn: .How to integrate the potential of tablet technology into existing library programs and staff workflows .How to Host a Staff Training Technology Petting Zoo .How to provide tablet support and training for your patrons .How to use tablets in your story time and other children s programming .How to circulate tablets in your library .How to use tablets to promote library services .How to use tablets in your physical spaces to provide and gather information"
Modern Pathfinders: creating better research guides by 
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu