Open Educational Resources

Lumen Learning online course, organized into 13 modules, from "What is Managerial Accounting?" to "Financial and Non-financial Measures." Each module includes review exercises.

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today.

Online course hosted via Lumen Learning platform. Organized into 15 modules, from "Introduction to Accounting" to "Analyzing Financial Statements." Online format, and downloadable ePub format available. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Covering math topics required by business professionals, including taxes, currency exchange, loans, mortgages, leases, and other financial tools. Ancillary resources for instructor solutions and exercises available upon request.

This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions.

Lumen Learning and SUNY online course. Organized into 18 major units, from "What is Accounting?" to "Financial Statement Analysis." Each unit includes exercises. Instructor resources available with log-in. Includes an appendix of partnerships. In general, CC BY licenses (Creative Commons - Attribution), but each page has specific license and attribution info at the bottom.

The book reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), such as IFRS 15 - Revenue from Contracts With Customers.

The adapted textbook includes multiple ancillary student and instructor resources. Student aids include solutions to all end-of-chapter questions and problems, and randomly-generated spreadsheet problems that cover key concepts of each chapter.

Khan Academy video lessons and practice questions for core accounting topics, including cash vs. accrual accounting, core financial statements, and depreciation and amortization. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to, but some of their resources are openly licensed, with a CC BY NC 3.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

Saylor textbook with 13 chapters. PDF and online versions. Written with 3 major themes: Ready, Reinforcement, and Relevance. Focuses on decision-making activities within each chapter.

Search in OER Commons repository for "accounting" materials. Refined search to community college education level and material types such as activity/labs, lessons, readings, simulations, videos, and more. Each result may have a different license or terms of use.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting.

This is book one in a six-book series on fundamental mathematics for adult learners. These books include glossaries, self tests, practice requests, grades records, and unit tests. Ancillary Resources include the Instructor's Manual.

Readers and course packs designed for adult literacy learners. Downloadable and editable

This book is divided into two parts. Part I is a Composition Handbook designed to teach students the components of the writing process and the conventions of various forms of school and college writing assignments. Part II is an Anthology of Literature designed to help students read actively, analyze, understand, enjoy, and appreciate stories, poems, and plays by a diverse and inclusive group of exceptional writers.

This textbook is ideal for an introductory level Human Biology course. It begins with an introduction to sciences and the scientific method, and then addresses the human body in increasing scale: from biological molecules, to cells and tissues, to organs and all eleven organ systems. The text employs clear writing, case studies for each chapter, interactive self-marking study activities, highlights of Indigenous knowledge and examples, pop-up glossary, and links to resources for extending learning.

This resource includes powerpoints, class notes, and laboratory manuals for each of three three modules: Chemistry, Biology, and Physics. Quizzes and mini-finals are also available to instructors upon request.

The textbook introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra, geometry, and trigonometry while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.

You will learn invaluable skills on topics such as time management, study skills, test-taking, memory techniques, researching, referencing sources, learning preferences, student supports and resources, communication skills, online learning, student funding, presentation skills, and transferring courses between post-secondary institutions.

This textbook — written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production — addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis.  Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings.

As a vital part of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation’s mission as an educational institution, the Guggenheim Museum’s Publications Department publishes books and catalogues to document its exhibitions and collections.

The history of Art is long and varied, spanning tens of thousands of years from ancient paintings on the walls of caves to the glow of computer-generated images on the screens of the 21st century.

MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban Studies is a robust digital collection of classic and previously out-of-print architecture and urban studies books, on the digital book platform, MIT Press Direct.

A free and open-source introduction to the art and science of moving pictures, offering in-depth exploration of how cinema communicates, and what, exactly, it is trying to say.

Award winning Creative Commons licensed art courses. Provides video, written, and pictorial content.

Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.

Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.

Customer centricity is about organizational transformation making the customer the focus for business decisions, processes, product development, services, and procedures. It's about mapping the customer journey to discover customer needs and wants, what's working and what is not, then taking action to improve the customer experience.

The newly updated edition - based on Quirk's unique Think, Create, Engage, Optimise structure and processes - includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice.

"The goal of this textbook is simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way." Organized into 16 chapters, each with cases and problems. Multiple formats, including digital and print PDFs, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats

This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. For you, we adapt the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses.

This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. For you, we adapt the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses.

FUNDAMENTALS OF BUSINESS, 3rd edition is an open education resource intended to serve as a no-cost, instructor-customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. 

This text provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals.

Lumen Learning course, newly revised. "This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals with learning design structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Key topics include the role of business, the global economic and legal environment, ethics, marketing, accounting and finance, and managing processes and operations."

This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses. This book has been updated for Fall 2018.

The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. 

Principles of Marketing is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors. Principles of Marketing provides a solid grounding in the core concepts and frameworks of marketing theory and analysis so that business students interested in a major or minor in marketing will also be prepared for more rigorous, upper-level elective courses. 

“A series of modules intended for use in Higher Education courses or by independent learners… the resource will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assets, assessments and supporting materials.”

A free, Open Educational Resource, Blueprint for Success in College and Career is a students' guide for classroom and career success. This text, designed to show how to be successful in college and in career preparation focuses on study skills, time management, career exploration, health, and financial literacy.

OpenStax College Success is a comprehensive and contemporary resource that serves First Year Experience, Student Success, and College Transition courses. Developed with the support of hundreds of faculty and coordinators, the book addresses the evolving challenges and opportunities of today’s diverse students. 

A Different Road To College: A Guide For Transitioning Non-Traditional Students is designed to introduce students to the contextual issues of college.  This open educational resource is designed to engage students in seeing themselves as college students and understanding the complexity of what that means to their lives.

Introduces various aspects of student and academic life on campus and prepares readers to thrive as a successful college student. Contains true-to-life short stories from actual State University of New York (SUNY) students, employees, and alumni. 

Choosing & Using Sources presents a process for academic research and writing, from formulating your research question to selecting good information and using it effectively in your research assignments. Additional chapters cover understanding types of sources, searching for information, and avoiding plagiarism. 

Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.

Social media and humans exist in a world of mutual influence, and humans play central roles in how this influence is mediated and transferred. Originally created by University of Arizona Information scholar Diana Daly, this Third Edition of the book Humans R Social Media uses plain language and features contributions by students to help readers understand how we as humans shape social media, and how social media shapes our world in turn.

Interpersonal Communication: A Mindful Approach to Relationships helps readers examine their own one-on-one communicative interactions using a mindfulness lens. The writing team of Jason S. Wrench, Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter, and Katherine Thweatt incorporates the latest communication theory and research to help students navigate everyday interpersonal interactions. Each chapter is broken into different sections that have unique instructional outcomes, key takeaways, and exercises, and concludes with real-world case studies and sample quiz questions. 

Media, Society, Culture, and You is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change. This book has been peer-reviewed by 6 subject experts.

Welcome to Mindful Technical Writing: An Introduction to the Fundamentals, an open textbook designed for use in co-requisite course pairings of developmental writing and introductory technical writing, or indeed in other lower-division college writing courses that focus on building study skills alongside effective workplace and academic writing skills.

Principles of Public Speaking

Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy is a contemporary, interdisciplinary public speaking textbook that fuses rhetoric, critical/cultural studies, and performance to offer an up-to-date resource for students. With a focus on advocacy, this textbook invites students to consider public speaking as a political, purposeful form of information-sharing.

This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.

Write Here, Right Now: An interactive Introduction to Academic Writing and Research utilizes PressBooks to create and host a writing e-textbook for first year university students that would effectively integrate into the flipped classroom model.

Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to join the academic community as novice scholars and to approach writing as a meaningful medium of thought and communication. With concise discussions, clear multidisciplinary examples, and empathy for the challenges of student life, Guptill conveys a welcoming tone.

A world literature class may be the first place that some students have encountered European works, let alone non-Western texts. The emphasis in this anthology, therefore, is on non-Western and European works, with only the British authors who were the most influential to European and non-Western authors.

The anthology for World Literature II has been prepared with the assistance of the University of North Georgia Press in its role as Affordable Learning Georgia's Partner Press. 

Using a combination of the newest findings in hemispheric science, neuropsychology, and brain development, along with the long-established rhetorical algorithms for analyzing the structure of arguments, this course explores the boundaries of critical and creative thinking in pursuit of developing a clearer and more robust model for the construction and deconstruction of various forms of argument.

ELC4 presents the largest and most diverse group yet of elit authors writing in Afrikaans, Ancient Chinese, Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Indonesian, isiXhosa, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mezangelle, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Setswana, Simplified Chinese, Slovak, South African Sign Language, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Yoruba.

EmpoWord is a reader and rhetoric that champions the possibilities of student writing. The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors.

English Literature: Victorians and Moderns is an anthology with a difference. In addition to providing annotated teaching editions of many of the most frequently-taught classics of Victorian and Modern poetry, fiction and drama, it also provides a series of guided research casebooks.

First-year composition text contains three major sections—Section One primarily focuses on the nuts and bolts of writing to get students engaged in the process of writing and also considering what their point or claim is. This section shares ideas about expressing ideas and is primarily derived from the Wiki Book on Rhetoric and Composition. Section Two continues to discuss academic writing including research and other inquiry methods as well as analysis and blends more of the previously cited Wiki Book and Shane Abram’s EmpoWord: A Student Centered Anthology and Handbook for College Writers. It also includes some examples from students at Lansing Community College and more discussion about thinking deeply about writing and techniques. Finally, “Section Three Narrative and Description,” is primarily based on Shane Abram’s EmpoWord. 

Great Works of African American Literature

Informed Arguments: A Guide to Writing and Research

A collection of student memoirs

Informed by a writing philosophy that values both spontaneity and discipline, Michelle Bonczek Evory's Naming the Unnameable: An Approach to Poetry for New Generations offers practical advice and strategies for developing a writing process that is centered on play and supported by an understanding of America's rich literary traditions.

This Pressbook is one part of the Open English project. It works as a local venue for faculty, students, and other members of the SLCC community to circulate ideas about and discuss writing in their lives.

A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, emphasizing audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids.

Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading- and writing-related topic students will encounter in their college courses.

Writing Guide with Handbook aligns with the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.

Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students—with each book available for download for free under a Creative Commons license.

Writing the Nation: A Concise Guide to American Literature 1865 to Present is a text that surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature.

This zine is a collection of biographies and portraits of badass womxn in the Pacific Northwest. Undergraduate students collaborated to create this resource that fuses multilingual poetry, art, and writing to celebrate and honor some of the strongest people you might not have heard of. 

This openly licensed text, created with students, approaches contemporary families from an equity lens. It asks two questions relevant to the Difference, Power, and Discrimination outcomes at Linn-Benton Community College and Oregon State University: “What do families need?” and “How do society and institutions support or get in the way of families getting what they need?"

Equality Archive is a reliable source for the history of sex and gender equality in the United States. It is a theater for history and social justice with the goal to provide a forum for curious people.

This website is for people who want to learn about social justice, or for folks who teach it. 

Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.

OER nursing video simulations

Body Physics sticks to the basic functioning of the human body, from motion to metabolism, as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. Related practice, reinforcement and Lab activities are included.

This text is a presentation of how and why children grow, develop, and learn, covering physical, cognitive, and social development.

The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways. Key terms are set in bold throughout the book and laid out again in a Glossary in the appendix. All 88 checklists are also summarized, and hyperlinked to the original checklist, in the appendix.

The Nurses International EKG Primer was developed by Jacqueline Christianson, NP-C, MSN and edited by the Nurses International Team

Training for Medication Administration

The book covers eight case studies of common inpatient or emergency department scenarios. I appreciated that they had written out the learning objectives.

This is a lab manual for a college-level human anatomy course. Most of the activities in this manual utilize anatomical models, and several dissections of animal tissues and histological examinations are also included. Each unit includes both pre- and post-lab questions and six lab exercises designed for a classroom where students move from station to station. The vocabulary terms used in each unit are listed at the end of the manual and serve as a checklist for practicals.

This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan

This book's intent is to recognize the significant role the literature review plays in the research process and to prepare students for the work that goes into writing one. Developed for new graduate students and novice researchers just entering into the work of a chosen discipline, each of the eight chapters covers a component of the literature review process. Students will learn how to form a research question, search existing literature, synthesize results and write the review. The book contains examples, checklists, supplementary materials, and additional resources.

MENTAL HEALTH IS A VERB is an Open Education Resource that addresses mental health nursing care. The book reviews the foundations of mental health, psychopharmacology, and the most common mental health diagnoses.

The Biology 256 Laboratory course was designed to provide students with hands-on access to modern techniques in human physiological analyses using the course-based research pedagogical approach. In this course, students will learn how to perform literature searches; generate research questions and hypotheses; design experiments; collect, analyze, visualize and interpret data; and present scientific findings to others. 

Books from the National Center for Biotechnology Information

This book was developed for use in Nursing Assistant courses with funding from the Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund (HEERF). It contains remixed content from Open RN textbooks and other OER sources as well as new content. Chapters contain interactive learning activities and videos of instructor skills demonstrations.

The purpose of this textbook is to provide an in-depth look at death and dying in this country, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey toward the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation for understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss.

This book introduces the entry-level nursing student to the scope of nursing practice, various communication techniques, and caring for diverse patients.

This open-access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes.

This open-access Nursing Skills textbook includes physical assessments routinely performed by entry-level registered nurses and basic nursing skills performed by licensed practical nurses.  Content and learning activities are included to encourage the student to engage in critical thinking and apply the nursing process while analyzing assessment findings.

This text provides students with information to access, read, and view that will assist in the learning of complex nutrient digestion, absorption, and metabolism concepts. Research lab materials are also included on this site, which provide readings on nutrition science from an original research perspective.

Pressbooks Healthcare Collection
OER for the healthcare field is drastically increasing. Providing high-quality, low-cost materials to meet the educational demands of a growing field is a powerful way OER can transform education.  This resource highlights OER developed across several institutions and provides up-to-date information. 

SEHRA (Sunshine EHR Academic), is an educational simulation of an electronic health records system using Access 2019 as the development platform. Piloted in December of 2019, SEHRA was successfully implemented in January 2020, and became an essential part of SUNY Broome’s ability to take health science classes and clinicals online. SEHRA continues to grow and is currently used in on-campus laboratories, remote courses, and for professional practice experience.

Includes a collection of free medical simulation scenarios contributed by various educators. Current sections are ECG / EKGs (images), Ultrasounds (videos), X-Rays (images), Other (images) and Audio clips. There also also links to various A/V solutions, often used in debriefing. 

Spanish MAT Video Library

Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice provides a pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting, and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are woven throughout the text.

The Niagara County Community College Virtual Anatomy Lab was developed to provide digital access to the models, microscope slides, and dissection materials utilized in the Anatomy and Physicology Lab at NCCC.

A comprehensive survey of American Environmental History covering the exodus and evolution of homo sapiens to food production and transportation in the modern day.

The American Yawp offers a free, online, collaboratively built American history textbook designed for college-level history courses.

In an increasingly digital world in which pedagogical trends are de-emphasizing rote learning and professors are increasingly turning toward active learning exercises, scholars are fleeing traditional textbooks. The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses.

This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double-blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the material carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality.

HistSex.org is the home of an interdisciplinary, interinstitutional, and international resource for information on the history of sexuality. 

International and multidisciplinary authors share a free online textbook for Holocaust educators and students. Chapters consider the Holocaust and genocide from many perspectives, including the Arts and Humanities.

Native Peoples of North America is intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective.

A collection of scholarly works about individual liberty and free markets.

This project originated in response to the COVID-19 pandemic sweeping the globe and its various knock-on effects. We created a small collection of openly available primary documents discussing epidemics from the past, such as the Black Death in Europe in the mid-fourteenth century and smallpox hitting northern Michigan in the nineteenth. Our initial goal was to highlight similarities between past outbreaks and modern ones, including Covid-19. To that end, there are questions presented at the end of each source that inquire about parallels that can be drawn between then and now.

TeachingAmericanHistory.org is a project of the Ashbrook Center at Ashland University. The Ashbrook Center is an independent, non-partisan non-profit, the mission of which is to restore and strengthen the capacities of the American people for constitutional self-government. To fulfill this mission, Ashbrook offers educational programs for students, teachers, and citizens.

U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top-down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom-up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.

U.S. History is a survey course beginning with the indigenous people of North America and extending to the post-Civil War Reconstruction era.

Western Civilization: A Concise History is an Open Educational Resource textbook covering the history of Western Civilization from approximately 8000 BCE to the recent past. 

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. It covers Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open-access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.

Photos, maps, newspapers, and historical collections.

Browse more than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works in The Met collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.

NGA Images is a repository of digital images from the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 51,000 open-access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. 

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming videos, and more.

Multidisciplinary artifacts from many of the Smithsonian's collections including spacecraft, statues, fossils, animals, and more.

At Smithsonian Open Access, you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Business Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. The concepts are presented in a streamlined manner and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. 

Criminal Law uses a two-step process to augment learning, called the applied approach. First, after building a strong foundation from scratch, Criminal Law introduces you to crimes and defenses that have been broken down into separate components.

In this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics. These concepts will then be applied to the major components of the criminal justice system: policing, the courts, and corrections. Discussion will focus on personal values, individual responsibility, decision-making, discretion, and the structure of accountability. 

This book is an introductory survey of the legal topics required in undergraduate business law classes.

The Indigo Book isn’t the same as The Bluebook, but it does implement the same Uniform System of Citation that The Bluebook does. The scope of The Indigo Book’s coverage is roughly equivalent to The Bluebook’s “Bluepages”—that is, The Indigo Book covers legal citation for U.S. legal materials, as well as books, periodicals, and Internet and other electronic resources. 

Delineating criminal investigation into operational descriptors of tactical response and strategic response while using illustrations of task skills and thinking-skills, the reader is guided into structured thinking practices. Using the graphic tools of a “Response Transition Matrix”, an “Investigative Funnel”, and the “STAIR Tool”, the reader is shown how to form their own mental map of investigative thinking that can later be articulated in support of forming their reasonable grounds to believe.

There is a dearth of OER textbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice, which made creating this textbook all the more exciting. Our primary goal was to make sure this book was as in-depth as the two textbooks we were currently using for our CCJ 230 introduction course.

This text introduces first-year law students to the new kind of research required to study and practice law. It seeks to demystify the art of legal research by following a “Source and Process” approach. First, the text introduces students to the major sources of American law and describes the forms the various authorities traditionally took in print. After establishing this base, the text proceeds to instruct students on the methods they will most likely use in practice, namely electronic research techniques and the consultation of secondary sources.

In Active Calculus Multivariable, we endeavor to actively engage students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore.

Algebra and Trigonometry provides a comprehensive and multi-layered exploration of algebraic principles. The text is suitable for a typical introductory Algebra & Trigonometry course and was developed to be used flexibly.

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. 

Desmos includes multiple tools for use in mathematics courses, including the HTML5 Desmos graphing calculator, which millions of students around the world use for free, including students who are blind or visually impaired. They also provide teaching activities and an activity builder for instructors using the platform.

This text, originally by Ken Kuttler, has been redesigned by the Lyryx editorial team as a first course in linear algebra for science and engineering students who have an understanding of basic algebra. All major topics of linear algebra are available in detail, as well as proofs of important theorems.

Textbook that covers the traditional study in a modern prealgebra course, as well as the topics of estimation, elementary analytic geometry, and introductory algebra.

The Math Insight website is a collection of pages and applets designed to shed light on concepts underlying a few topics in mathematics. The focus is on qualitative description rather than getting all technical details precise.

Are you an instructor who wants to adopt an open textbook, who feels online interactive homework is valuable, but doesn't want their students to have to pay an additional fee? Then read more about using MyOpenMath in the classroom.

Elementary Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles.

Intermediate Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles.

Prealgebra is a textbook for a one-semester course that serves as a bridge between arithmetic and algebra. The organization makes it easy to adapt the book to suit a variety of course syllabi.

Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way.

SageMath is a free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL. It builds on top of many existing open-source packages: NumPy, SciPy, matplotlib, Sympy, Maxima, GAP, FLINT, R and many more. Access their combined power through a common, Python-based language or directly via interfaces or wrappers.

A collection of open resources from Skills Commons.

A modules-based approach to learning research skills emphasizes the reflective nature of information discovery, the contextual basis for evaluating that information, and a recognition that information has value.

This book introduces topics about identity, dress, and the body. Through the content, readers explore how individuals and communities use dress as a way to communicate (i.e. “negotiate” in fashion studies) their various identities. There is heightened attention to social justice, power, privilege, and oppression. 

The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments, and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.

Learn about the information ecosystem, finding reliable sources, and performing college-level research.

Aesthetic Theory and Practice offers fresh perspectives on canonical and emerging topics in aesthetics and brings attention to a number of culturally sensitive topics that are customarily silenced in introductions to aesthetics. 

This book has been created for students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. It is imperative to understand how and what factors may influence child outcomes across the lifespan. Therefore, key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, caregiving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains.

Early childhood is a critical time in development. Many outcomes, both positive and negative, have their beginnings in these years. It is vital that children’s health and safety be protected. High-quality early care and education programs can play a valuable role in improving outcomes for children.

This canvas is for the beginning level of both architecture and interior design students who are learning computer graphic communication software. The author developed multiple tutorials to teach three computer graphic applications, AutoCAD, Revit, and Enscape. AutoCAD is an essential computer drafting software which is 2D drawing software. Revit is a Building Information Modeling software, which is 3D based modeling software. Lastly, Enscape is a real-time rendering, animation, and virtual reality plug-in for users' 4D experiences.

Basic guide for fact-checking internet resources.

In this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics.

Introduction to Criminal Investigation, Processes, Practices, and Thinking, as the title suggests, is a teaching text describing and segmenting criminal investigations into their component parts to illustrate the craft of criminal investigation. 

Written by three Chemistry professors for the one-semester General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry course. 

Biology - 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.

The Climate Toolkit is a resource manual designed to help the reader navigate the complex and perplexing issue of climate change by providing tools and strategies to explore the underlying science. It contains a collection of activities that make use of readily available online resources developed by research groups and public agencies. 

This text is intended to provide an in-depth introduction to the key ideas in chemistry. We have designed the book to show how these ideas are developed from simple to complex systems and how they relate to each other. 

Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. 

Introduction to Earth Science is a 530+ page open textbook designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to Earth Science that can be freely accessed online, read offline, printed, or purchased as a print-on-demand book. It is intended for a typical 1000-level university introductory course in Geosciences, although its contents could be applied to many other related courses.

The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs. Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology.

NOVA Labs is a free digital platform that engages teens and lifelong learners in games and interactives that foster authentic scientific exploration. From predicting solar storms and constructing renewable energy systems to tracking cloud movement and designing RNA molecules, NOVA Labs participants can conduct investigations by visualizing, analyzing, and sharing the same data that scientists use.

Launched in 2007, the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences' OER initiative enables departments and individual faculty to provide resources free-of-charge under a Creative Commons license. As long as they adhere to the license, teachers and learners around the world are free to download, remix, translate, localize, and make these materials their own.

An open textbook that is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.

Soil and Water Conservation: An Annotated Bibliography highlights freely-available online content related to soil and water conservation.

American Government 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American Government course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including Insider Perspective features and a Get Connected module that shows students how they can get engaged in the political process.

Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with ethnographic methods and research design in a historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests.

This book is intended for use in a variety of introductory archaeology settings, such as in lectures and lab courses. This text can complement an existing traditional text or completely replace a standard text. It can be used for its activities or as a study resource.

This book introduces topics about identity, dress, and the body. Through the content, readers explore how individuals and communities use dress as a way to communicate (i.e. “negotiate” in fashion studies) their various identities. There is heightened attention to social justice, power, privilege, and oppression. That is, the content focuses on the experiences of historically marginalized communities and the ways they navigate dress and dressing their bodies in different contexts. 

This website is for people who want to learn about social justice, or for folks who teach it. 

IK: Other Ways of Knowing is an electronic, multidisciplinary peer-reviewed open-access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of indigenous knowledge from a global perspective. The journal is published twice yearly by the Pennsylvania State University Libraries, and is co-sponsored by the Penn State Libraries and the Penn State Interinstitutional Center for Indigenous Knowledge (ICIK).

This book provides an overview of lifespan developmental tasks (physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional) examined from individual and family theoretical perspectives. It covers topics related to families, diversity, individual and family health and well-being, and reciprocal relationships as affected by external factors.

Designed to meet the scope and sequence of your course, OpenStax Introduction to Anthropology is a four-field text integrating diverse voices, engaging field activities, and meaningful themes like Indigenous experiences and social inequality to engage students and enrich learning. The text showcases the historical context of the discipline, with a strong focus on anthropology as a living and evolving field. 

Designed for an introductory course, this textbook takes a cross-disciplinary approach to the study of LGBTQ+ issues that helps students grasp core concepts through a variety of different perspectives.

It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. The textbook presents section reviews with rich questions, discussions that help students apply their knowledge, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways.

This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, and Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes, and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research.

This book has been created for students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. It is imperative to understand how and what factors may influence child outcomes across the lifespan. Therefore, key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, care-giving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains.

Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts.

The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Rather than relying on “modules” or “appendices” of applied materials, this text integrates applied concepts into the text itself. This approach is consistent with the underlying theme that if students learn to think like social psychologists they will easily and naturally apply that knowledge to any and all applications. 

The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

Psychology - H5P Edition is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

This book focuses on the history of social thought in the West, studied through a decolonial critique. Most of the readings assigned are primary sources, texts written by people who were living and writing at the time of the events addressed. The ideas expressed in these readings are the result of thinkers analyzing complex social processes, allowing people to contemplate and create new ways of living that push the world into unchartered territories.

EXPLORE THE DISPERSAL OF ENSLAVED AFRICANS ACROSS THE ATLANTIC WORLD
This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. 

Social Problems: Continuity and Change is a realistic but motivating look at the many issues that are facing our society today. As this book’s subtitle, Continuity and Change, implies, social problems are persistent, but they have also improved in the past and can be improved in the present and future, provided that our nation has the wisdom and will to address them.

Student Anthropologist is the flagship peer-reviewed journal of the National Association of Student Anthropologists, the largest organization of student anthropologists in the world. It is an annual digital publication. We encourage students from all levels and disciplines to contribute to the journal.

This textbook was written for a community college introductory course in spreadsheets utilizing Microsoft Excel. While the figures shown utilize Excel 2016, the textbook was written to be applicable to other versions of Excel as well.

While it focuses specifically on Microsoft PowerPoint, it does include principles that can be applied to any presentation software.

This free electrical engineering/technology textbook provides a series of chapters covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for students, makers, and professionals who are looking for an application-centric coverage of this field.

OER resources from Skills Commons.

This course is a comprehensive study of the principles of Construction Technology. It applies the concepts of modern carpentry, engineering, and technology, utilizing the framework of green and sustainability to residential and commercial construction.

A practical how-to illustrating the process of developing a new food product from ideation and formulation to processing and lastly commercialization. This book highlights the overall process and gives instructions for each of the steps along the way.

Custom search for HVAC curriculum resources from Skills Commons.

Free and open materials specifically for workforce and trade programs.

The general goal of this course is to allow students to acquire the basic knowledge and skills used in furniture construction, cabinetmaking, and the construction process. Students will learn to safely use woodworking tools and machines to produce a quality furniture project. Students will also be introduced to carpentry through model design and construction.