The A-Z Food databases are highly recommended for Culinary students seeking recipes for American cuisine and around the world. Helpful information on beverages, ingredients, and cooking techniques is also available in these two resources. To enhance your exploration of regions and countries worldwide check out Global Road Warrior.
A to Z Food America This link opens in a new window
A to Z Food America contains recipes in all course categories (appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages) for six US regions, all 50 states, and 33 ethnic cuisines.
A to Z World Food This link opens in a new window
A to Z World Food & Recipes is an encyclopedia showcasing the native cuisine of 175 countries worldwide. Classic recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, main dishes, side dishes, desserts and beverages are featured.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
The following is a listing of suggested databases to use for Culinary related and food sustainability topics. To see all of the databases provided by the Gateway Libraries use the left menu option > select Find Articles > select Database A-Z List.
Suggested keywords:
- baking
- catering
- food industry
- food service
- nutrition
- restaurant management
- restaurant operations
If you need any assistance with your research, please contact one of the Gateway Technical College Libraries. We are happy to assist!
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Opposing Viewpoints is a useful database on social issues and debates related to food such as organic food, genetically modified food, food safety, Western diets, and nutrition.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu