LibGuides: Databases A-Z List:

Gateway Libraries

Library Home
About the Library
Find Books & Videos
Find Articles
- Database A-Z List
- Databases by Subject
Citing Sources
Subject Guides
Resources for Faculty & Staff
Help & Tutorials

Databases A-Z

A to Z Food America This link opens in a new window A to Z Food America contains recipes in all course categories (appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages) for six US regions, all 50 states, and 33 ethnic cuisines.
A to Z World Food This link opens in a new window A to Z World Food & Recipes is an encyclopedia showcasing the native cuisine of 175 countries worldwide. Classic recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, main dishes, side dishes, desserts and beverages are featured.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
To access this database, choose Wisconsin in the first box and enter your zip code in the second box. This will only work if you are accessing it inside of Wisconsin.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago, plus newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window In 1981 Britannica published its first digital encyclopedia—probably the first digital encyclopedia—and thus began a journey toward becoming an almost totally digital company. Today the Britannica.com Web site and many others published by EB and its divisions serve tens of millions of people around the world. They are updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
ChiltonLibrary This link opens in a new window OEM repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Provides step-by-step procedures, diagnostic and troubleshooting help, and a video library.
The Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window You must be on campus to access this resource.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Full-text database covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Consumer Reports This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window EBSCO eBooks is a database of selected full-text electronic books. Gateway Technical College’s EBSCO eBooks collection contains titles focusing on Nursing, IT/IS, web design, computers and software, graphic arts, and sustainable buildings.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 66,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Education Source This link opens in a new window Research database designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Exploring Race in Society (EBSCOhost) Click on Access Now button This link opens in a new window This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational video content into your curriculum by providing easy integration with learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Most titles are available for individual lease or purchase, or through subscriptions to our robust, curriculum-focused subjects.
Foundations in Wisconsin Directory This link opens in a new window This directory provides searchable profiles of active grantmaking foundations in the state of Wisconsin. Click on "Member Login" to access the search screen.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Health Source-Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window Collection of genealogical and historical sources. Unique primary sources, local, and family histories. U.S. Federal Censuses, books, cemetery records, city directories, military records and more. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Hobbies & Crafts Source This link opens in a new window Magazines, recipes, and videos with "how-to" instructions and creative do-it-yourself ideas. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Home Improvement Source This link opens in a new window Magazines & reference books on home improvement and repair project topics. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Library & Information Science Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window With LinkedIn Learning, students and staff have access to more than 1,400 training videos in a broad range of subjects including business skills, photography, design, music, video, animation, and web design and development. New courses are added every week.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Literary Reference™ Center (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center Plus contains everything in Literary Reference™ Center, plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Medline (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window MedlinePlus was created by the National Library of Medicine, a part of the National Institutes of Health to assist you in locating authoritative health information. MedlinePlus pages contain carefully selected links to Web resources with health information and news on over 750 topics. It also includes the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia which brings health consumers an extensive library of medical images as well as over 4,000 of articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence based clinical disease and medication resources for informed diagnosis and treatment decisions. From neonatal through geriatric patients. Includes toxicology, acute care, and alternative medicine. 
Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
MSDS Online (Material Safety Data Sheets) This link opens in a new window Accessible on-site only, by IP address. Remote access is not available. Database contains information on the potential health effects of exposure to chemicals, or other potentially dangerous substances, and on safe working procedures when handling chemical products.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. Provided by Wisconsin DPI. You do not need to sign in to use this database.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Novelist (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next? Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
OverDrive eBooks This link opens in a new window A shared collection of fiction and non-fiction eBooks. You must log in with your student ID number and password to access titles.
OVID Nursing Journals This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text of 54 American-based nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
PBS Wisconsin Education This link opens in a new window Educational videos, images, and animations spanning all curricular areas. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Poetry & Short Story Reference Center contains selected works of major and minor American and English poets, along with international poetry representing each continent (accompanied by English translations, when available). Works include plays and speeches, short stories and classic books, biographies, critical analyses, contextual essays and explications for important works, essays on poetic forms, literary terms, techniques and movements, multimedia (audio and video) of poets reading their works and interviews from reputable sources like the Academy of American Poets, the Poetry Foundation, and MacNeil/Lehrer Productions. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Resources presenting multiple sides of an issue to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. For high school and adult learners. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Popular Magazines (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This list provides a link to the PDF or HTML full text of 61 popular magazine titles available in MasterFILE Complete. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window This eBook database focuses primarily on Health and Medicine titles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Descriptions of biomedical citations (articles) from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Regional Business News includes full text coverage from 108 business magazines and newspapers from the U.S. and Canada. With full text dating back to 1990. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Science Reference Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Science Reference Source is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
ShopKey Pro This link opens in a new window
Small Engine Repair Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window An engaging collection of resources that brings books to life. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Truck ProDemand This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
The Wall Street Journal - use US Newsstream
Wisconsin Historical Society Family History Records This link opens in a new window Family history research records from the Wisconsin Historical Society records available on Ancestry. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.

Not a Gateway Student?

Try Badgerlink, Wisconsin’s online library which provides access to licensed content such as magazines, newspapers, scholarly articles, videos, images, auto repair, health information, and music. BadgerLink is available to all Wisconsin residents.

Databases A-Z List:

Gateway Libraries

Library Home

About the Library

Find Books & Videos

Find Articles

Citing Sources

Subject Guides

Resources for Faculty & Staff

Help & Tutorials

Databases A-Z

Not a Gateway Student?