Skip to main content

Policies:

Gateway Libraries

Lost & Found

Starting March 1, 2018, all lost and found items (including flash drives) will be immediately handed over to Campus Security.

Campus Security Contact Information:

Elkhorn Campus: (262)741-8208, Room 109 South Building
Kenosha Campus: (262)564-2208, M106 Technical Wing
Racine Campus: (262)619-6208, 103 Racine Building

Library Card

Gateway Students and Staff - The Gateway Student and Staff ID cards are all used as the Gateway Library Card. Present your ID Card at any campus Library Circulation Desk for validation. ID Cards are not transferable. Staff and students do not have a limit for items borrowed at one time; however, restrictions may be imposed due to overdues and/or abuse of library privileges.

Residents - Any resident may register for a Gateway Library Card. Two forms of identification are required:  one of which must be a photo ID and the second must be a current (dated within 30 days) mailing showing name and current address. Library privileges include in-library access to resources as well as borrowing up to six items. Resident library cards are renewed annually by providing the same identification listed above.

Gateway Technical College Alumni Association - Members may register for a Library card and will receive the same services as a Resident.  Two forms of identification are required:  one of which must be a photo ID and the second must be a current (dated within 30 days) mailing showing name and current address.  Library privileges include in-library access to resources as well as borrowing up to six items.  Alumni Association library cards are renewed annually by providing the same identification listed above.

Library users must present picture identification upon request by Library Staff.

Use of Computers

Use of library computer facilities is governed by the "Use of Computing Resources" policy stated in the Gateway Student Handbook.  Patrons 16 years of age and up can be in the library without a parent; however, children are not allowed in the Library Computer Lab, and in order to use any of the computer facilities, non-student patrons under 18 must be accompanied by an adult with an active GTC library card.  In addition, patrons must follow all other computer usage regulations posted in the Libraries.

Data saved on computer hard drives will be erased.  Patrons are responsible for performing regular backup of data on their own storage device.

Food & Beverages

Consumption of food is not permitted in the Library.  Please keep food in closed containers in your backpacks or place at the designated shelf found at the Library Circulation Desk. 

Beverages with lids are allowed at library study tables, but not in the Library Computer Lab or at Library Computer workstations.  If your drink does not have a lid, such as a can of soda or a mug of coffee, place it at the designated shelf found at the Library Circulation Desk.

Don't hesitate to ask Library staff for help cleaning up spills.

Loan Periods

Loan Periods for materials from the GTC General Collection is: 3 weeks for books and 1 week for magazines and A/V materials. 

Circulation periods for other materials and collections vary. Fines and fees for overdue or lost materials may also be assessed. Ask at the Library Circulation Desk for information on loan periods and fines and fees.

Regarding Transactions over the Phone - Library staff will conduct renewals over the phone when an item(s) qualifies for renewal, but we will not share item information over the phone.  Library staff also cannot update your account information over the phone.  Account updates can be made in-person. These precautions are taken to ensure the privacy of patron account information.

Renewal Policy

Some items may be renewed once.  If the item has been requested by another patron, the renewal will not be permitted. 

Abuse of library borrowing privileges or other library policies may result in revocation of the patron's borrower card and/or use of library facilities and services.

Charges for Overdue and Lost Items

General Collection:

25 cents per school day

($6.00 maximum) except:

Videotapes/DVDs -

$1.20 per school day

$6.00 maximum fine per item

Reserve Collection:

$1.20 per hour for items checked out on an hourly basis

$5.00 per school day for items checked out on a daily basis

$30.00 maximum fine per item

Charges for Lost Materials

Borrowers will be billed for lost, damaged, or unreturned materials. Borrowers who have charges of $40 or more in lost, damaged, or unreturned materials will have the debt added to their student account with the college, which may impact future course registration and may result in the debt being sent to collection agencies.

Privacy & Patron Confidentiality

According to the Wisconsin Statutes and Annotations (2009-10) 43:30, Public Library Records, Gateway Technical College Library maintains the privacy and confidentiality of all library borrowers’ records and all other information relating to an individual’s use of the library’s resources and services.  Accordingly, Gateway Technical College Library will not disclose such information except as required by law. 

Except when presented by a law enforcement official with a court order, the library may release information about an individual’s library transactions only to that individual or persons acting in the scope of their duties in the administration of the library. 

Information We Collect

The following information may be collected by the Gateway Technical College Library about users of the Gateway Technical College Library facilities, website, catalog, online resources, services and systems:

Your Gateway Technical College ID number, address, phone number, and e-mail address are stored in our system and are attached to any service requests, such as an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request, that you make.

-Your circulation record.

-ILL requests.

-Your browser type, operating system, and the domain and Internet Protocol (IP) address from which you are   connecting.

-For the security of our users, our staff, our facilities, and our collections, activity at Gateway Technical College Library facilities may be covered by security video surveillance cameras. 

How This Information is Used

The user information collected by the Gateway Technical College Library is necessary to provide requested library services, follow library policies, and to comply with license agreements to limit certain electronic resources to the Gateway Technical College community. 

Procedure for Release of Patron Information

When presented by a law enforcement official with a court order for the production of any tangible items (including books, records, papers, documents, or other items), or a court order authorizing the monitoring of voice or digital communication services provided by the library, library staff members 1) will refer the law enforcement official to the Library Manager or, in his/her absence, to the Dean of Campus Affairs and 2) will not disclose the fact of the referral or the existence or content of the court order to any other person. 

State of Wisconsin Statute

The Library is bound to Wisconsin Statute 43.30 “Public Library Records”, which states:

(1m) Records of any library which is in whole or in part supported by public funds, including the records of a public library system, indicating the identity of any individual who borrows or uses the library's documents or other materials, resources, or services may not be disclosed except by court order or to persons acting within the scope of their duties in the administration of the library or library system, to persons authorized by the individual to inspect such records, to custodial parents or guardians of children under the age of 16 under sub. (4), to libraries under subs. (2) and (3), or to law enforcement officers under sub. (5).

(2) A library supported in whole or in part by public funds may disclose an individual's identity to another library for the purpose of borrowing materials for the individual only if the library to which the individual's identity is being disclosed meets at least one of the following requirements:

(a) The library is supported in whole or in part by public funds.

(b) The library has a written policy prohibiting the disclosure of the identity of the individual except as authorized under sub. (3).

(c) The library agrees not to disclose the identity of the individual except as authorized under sub. (3).

(3) A library to which an individual's identity is disclosed under sub. (2) and that is not supported in whole or in part by public funds may disclose that individual's identity to another library for the purpose of borrowing materials for that individual only if the library to which the identity is being disclosed meets at least one of the requirements specified under sub. (2) (a) to (c).

(4) Upon the request of a custodial parent or guardian of a child who is under the age of 16, a library supported in whole or part by public funds shall disclose to the custodial parent or guardian all library records relating to the use of the library's documents or other materials, resources, or services by that child.

(5) 
(a) Upon the request of a law enforcement officer who is investigating criminal conduct alleged to have occurred at a library supported in whole or in part by public funds, the library shall disclose to the law enforcement officer all records pertinent to the alleged criminal conduct that were produced by a surveillance device under the control of the library.

(b) If a library requests the assistance of a law enforcement officer, and the director of the library determines that records produced by a surveillance device under the control of the library may assist the law enforcement officer to render the requested assistance, the library may disclose the records to the law enforcement officer. 

Cellphone Policy

Cellphone Usage

Cellphone usage is not allowed in the Gateway Technical College Libraries. As a courtesy to other patrons, please turn off your cellphone before entering the library or set it to vibrate. Exit the library to conduct cellphone conversations.  This policy is enforced in order to maintain a quiet learning environment that users expect in the library.  Silent texting is permitted, but all ringers/notifications should be turned to vibrate or silent. 

Enforcement: 
Patrons will be given an opportunity to make a reasonable attempt to comply and may receive a warning.  If a reasonable attempt is not made, or there is a repeated use, the patron will be asked to leave the library for that day. 

Children in the Library

In accordance with the Gateway Student Handbook, pg. 24, children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult to be in the library. Patrons 16 years of age and up can be in the library without a parent; however, children are not allowed in the Library Computer Lab. To use any of the computer facilities, non-student patrons under 18 must be accompanied by an adult with an active GTC library card.

Copyright Policy

Click here to read our copyright policy and view other information about copyright law.  Library patrons are expected to follow copyright law when using the library facilities and resources.