The Devastation of Black Wall Street - Tulsa, Oklahoma. 1921. A wave of racial violence destroys an affluent African-American community, seen as a threat to white-dominated American capitalism.
(Fain, K. 2017, July 5). JSTOR
Tulsa Race Massacre: Intent on killing, stealing and destruction, white mobs leveled a thriving black community.
(Krehbiel, R. 2020, May 31). Tulsa World
The Tulsa Race Riot and Three of Its Victims
(Franklin, B.C. 1931, August 22). Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, Gift from Tulsa Friends and John W. and Karen R. Franklin
From May 31 to June 1, 1921, Greenwood, a black neighborhood in Tulsa, Oklahoma, is destroyed by white mobs. This guide provides access to material related to the "Tulsa Race Massacre" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
The information in this guide focuses on primary source materials found in the digitized historic newspapers from the digital collection Chronicling America.
Though resources on the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre can be found throughout the Tulsa City-County Library system, TCCL's African-American Resource Center (AARC) at Rudisill Regional Library, in particular, and the Research Center at Central Library house the greatest number of resources. This guide is intended to supplement the AARC Tulsa Race Massacre subject guide and to point to resources that may be found in the Research Center or are available from other reliable entities online.
This site is being developed by I. Marc Carlson, the Librarian of Special Collections at the McFarlin Library, The University of Tulsa. He is a historical researcher and a librarian. He has been researching the Tulsa Race Riot since 1989.
The material on this site is either public domain or copyrighted to I. Marc Carlson. The Public Domain items will be identified as such.
Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 Collection documents the history of the event through photographs that are all part of a rich archive of materials from the Ruth Sigler Avery Collection housed at the Oklahoma State University-Tulsa Library. For information about this collection please contact the OSU-Tulsa library at tulsa.libraryreference@okstate.edu or 918-594-8130.
The Greenwood Cultural Center is the keeper of the flame for the Black Wall Street era, the events known as the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre, and the astounding resurgence of the Greenwood District in the months and years following the tragedy.
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu