What You Need to Know about Headaches by Claudio Butticè
There are numerous types of headaches, each with a unique cause, pain profile, and set of treatment options. This book offers readers a broad introduction to this common, yet often misunderstood, group of conditions. What exactly is going on in your body during a headache? How can they be prevented or managed? How can you tell if your splitting headache is actually a brain tumor? This book provides the answers to these and many other questions. What You Need to Know about Headaches is the latest volume in Greenwood's Inside Diseases and Disorders series. This series profiles a variety of physical and psychological conditions, distilling and consolidating vast collections of scientific knowledge into concise, readable volumes. A list of "top 10" essential questions begins each book, providing quick-access answers to readers' most pressing concerns. The text follows a standardized, easy-to-navigate structure, with each chapter exploring a particular facet of the topic. In addition to covering such basics as causes, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options, books in this series delve into issues that are less commonly addressed but still critically important, such as effects on loved ones and caregivers. Case illustrations highlight key themes discussed in the book and are accompanied by insightful analyses and recommendations. A holistic approach to the subject covers such often-overlooked areas as societal perceptions and impact on family and friends An Essential Questions section provides quick answers to the questions readers are most likely to have and serves as a springboard to explore the content of the book in more detail Case Illustrations provide relatable, real-world examples of concepts discussed in the text An annotated Directory of Resources points readers toward useful books, organizations, and websites, acting as a gateway to further study and research
Call Number: RC 392 B8.3 2022
ISBN: 9781440875311
Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Pain Management by
This accessibly written book examines the most commonly used substances and techniques for managing pain, exploring why they work (or don't), their risks and benefits, and key research findings regarding their use. No one is a stranger to pain. From sudden injuries to post-operative discomfort to nagging aches and stiffness, pain is an unwelcome but familiar part of life. There are numerous methods for managing pain, but it can be difficult to know which is the best fit and to separate truth from hype. Pain Management: Fact versus Fiction examines 30 well-known options for combating pain, whether acute or chronic. Utilizing a standardized structure, each entry discusses a particular substance or technique's origins and underlying principles, how and in what context it's used, and its advantages and disadvantages. Summaries of key research studies are included to help readers better determine which treatments may be a good choice for them. Introductory materials give readers a foundational understanding of what pain is, how it's categorized and measured, and the impact it can have on individuals' physical and psychological well-being. A Further Reading section at the end of each entry points readers toward additional resources to expand and deepen their knowledge. Provides unbiased, evidence-based information to help readers make better decisions about how to manage their pain Summarizes and contextualizes key research findings in easy-to-understand language Utilizes a standardized structure to make it easy for readers to find the exact information they're looking for Covers allopathic therapies as well as complementary and alternative treatments
What You Need to Know about Headaches by
There are numerous types of headaches, each with a unique cause, pain profile, and set of treatment options. This book offers readers a broad introduction to this common, yet often misunderstood, group of conditions. What exactly is going on in your body during a headache? How can they be prevented or managed? How can you tell if your splitting headache is actually a brain tumor? This book provides the answers to these and many other questions. What You Need to Know about Headaches is the latest volume in Greenwood's Inside Diseases and Disorders series. This series profiles a variety of physical and psychological conditions, distilling and consolidating vast collections of scientific knowledge into concise, readable volumes. A list of "top 10" essential questions begins each book, providing quick-access answers to readers' most pressing concerns. The text follows a standardized, easy-to-navigate structure, with each chapter exploring a particular facet of the topic. In addition to covering such basics as causes, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options, books in this series delve into issues that are less commonly addressed but still critically important, such as effects on loved ones and caregivers. Case illustrations highlight key themes discussed in the book and are accompanied by insightful analyses and recommendations. A holistic approach to the subject covers such often-overlooked areas as societal perceptions and impact on family and friends An Essential Questions section provides quick answers to the questions readers are most likely to have and serves as a springboard to explore the content of the book in more detail Case Illustrations provide relatable, real-world examples of concepts discussed in the text An annotated Directory of Resources points readers toward useful books, organizations, and websites, acting as a gateway to further study and research
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu