American History: a Visual Encyclopedia by
Uncover the key moments that shaped American history in this extensive history encyclopedia for children. Get the background on the Battle of Yorktown and discover what started the American Revolution. Learn the legends of the Wild West. Relive the atmosphere of the "Roaring Twenties." Covering everything from the cultures of the first Native Americans right up to the events of the present day, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia is the ultimate reference tool for exploring the history of one of the most remarkable nations in the world. Created in collaboration with the Smithsonian Institution, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia gives detailed historical information and brings it to life with more than 750 photographs and paintings, plus extensive maps, charts, and state-specific information. Each double-page spread focuses on one aspect of the nation's history, be it the Civil War or civil rights, the Great Depression or the Moon landing. Complete texts of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution are included in the book for easy reference for classroom work or reports. Perfect as both an irreplaceable homework help and a fascinating read, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia showcases the incredible journey the United States of America has made to become a major 21st century power.
Celebrate the American Way by
REA's Celebrate the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to Language & Culture with Audio CD + MP3 The emphasis is on fun in this lighthearted guide to language and culture in the United States! The warm and witty authors of English the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to Language and Culture in the U.S. are back with the second book in the series, Celebrate the American Way, another fun ESL guide to English language and culture. This friendly guide takes you on a year-long journey through American culture, highlighting the meanings behind the U.S. holidays and special events celebrated in each season. You will learn why Americans celebrate Independence Day, discover the history of Thanksgiving, get tips on wedding etiquette, find out how to carve a Jack O' Lantern, and more! Our ESL author experts (Sheila MacKechnie Murtha and Jane Airey O'Connor) give English language learners all the must-know vocabulary, common expressions, and wacky idioms that help explain the major celebrations and social customs in the United States. You'll have fun improving your English language and grammar skills. Along the way, quiz yourself with fill-in and matching exercises as you learn about commonly confused words, adjectives, and synonyms. Practice speaking English like an American until you're perfect! Improve your listening and speaking skills with the dialogues included on our audio CD and Mp3 download. No matter what the season, Celebrate the American Way is an excellent resource for ESL students and teachers, English language learners, and professionals of all ages and all nationalities. Whether you want to improve your understanding of American culture or just expand your everyday vocabulary, this fun and friendly guide will help you build your skills and communicate with precision - and success! Don't miss the first book in the series... English the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to English Language and Culture in the U.S.
College the American Way by
College the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to English Language and Campus Life in the U.S. (Book + Audio) From the authors of the REA best-sellers, English the American Way and Celebrate the American Way, comes the third book in the series, College the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to English Language and Campus Life in the U.S. Written in a fun, lighthearted, and easy-to-follow style, this book is THE resource for international college-bound students who want to improve their English language skills. College the American Way answers the who? what? where? why? and how? questions about college life in the U.S. Learn who can help, what to do, where to go, why to check out housing and meal plans, and how to . . . HAVE FUN! Each easy-to-read part is full of vocabulary, informal language, idioms, phrasal verbs, dialogues, and activities. Our audio lets you practice speaking English like an American until you're perfect! Improve your listening and speaking skills with the sample dialogues included on our audio CD. You can also download the MP3 files to your mobile device and practice wherever you go. Whether you want to improve your understanding of campus life, or just expand your everyday vocabulary, this fun and friendly guide will help you build your skills and communicate with precision - and success! Don't miss the first two books in the series:English the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to Language and Culture in the U.S. and Celebrate the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to English Language and Culture in the U.S.
The Constitution Explained by
The United States Constitution is a short document, and it is written in general language, which leaves much of the meaning unwritten and open to interpretation. Dig into this important document and watershed in the history of governments! Explore the history, the various clauses, amendments, and interpretations. Understand your rights (and responsibilities)! From the Constitutional Convention to the creation of the Constitution and its eventual ratification, and to the Bill of Rights and the thorny constitutional issues of today, The Constitution Explained: A Guide for Every American covers the history, our founding fathers' goals, and the varied interpretations of the Constitution that have informed the politics and functioning of the U.S. government. You'll discover ... How the Constitution makes the United States of America different from many countries around the world because it gives us a peaceful mechanism to resolve governmental issues The rights and responsibilities of U.S. citizens An in-depth look at the freedoms enshrined in the Bill of Rights "The Miracle at Philadelphia" and "the Great Compromise" The many different methods used to interpret the Constitution Controversial U.S. Supreme Court picks throughout history and how the size and tenure of the Supreme Court justices has long been a contentious issue The remarkable evolution of death penalty jurisprudence The "Bill" Process, Pardon Power, Power of Judicial Review, and other stated and implied powers found in Articles I (Congress), II (Presidency) and III (Judicial) And much, much more! A guide to the citizenship and the American government, The Constitution Explained sheds a light on the differing and changing interpretations of the many broadly worded key phrases in the Constitution. You'll learn how the Constitution has been adopted to different times and various situations. You'll learn what it does--and does not--promise U.S. citizens. Richly illustrated, it also has a helpful bibliography, glossary, and extensive index. This invaluable resource is designed to help you understand the power and strength of the U.S. Constitution!
The ESL Writer's Handbook, 2nd Ed by
The ESL Writer's Handbook is a reference work for ESL students who are taking college-level courses. Because its purpose is to provide help with the broad variety of writing questions students may have when working on school assignments, the text focuses on English for Academic Purposes. Unlike other handbooks on the market, this book's sole purpose is to address the issues of second language learners. The spiral-bound Handbook complements a student writer's dictionary, thesaurus, and grammar reference book. It would be suitable as a text for an advanced ESL writing course when used together with the companion Workbook (978-0-472-03726-1). The new edition features significant revisions to Sections 3 and 4; in particular, both APA and MLA style guides have been updated and new sample papers for each are included. The new edition includes new and revised exercises and many new samples of student writing. Like its predecessor, the Second Edition has these special features: The topic selection is based on ESL writers' needs as observed by the authors over many years. The coverage of topics is more complete than the limited amount usually provided for ESL writers in first language or L1 handbooks. The explanatory language is appropriate for ESL students, in contrast to the more complex and idiomatic language of other English handbooks. Many of the examples of paragraphs, essays, research papers, and exercise sentences were written by ESL students to help users realize that they too can become effective writers.
How America Works by
How America Works gives teens a fun, behind-the-scenes look at how the U.S. government works, why they should care, and how they can get involved. But this isn't just any old civics primer. From the editors of Junior Scholastic and The New York Times Upfront, this engaging guide makes civics exciting and easy to understand for students in grades 6-10. Organized in 11 non‑sequential and self-contained units (with even more learning extensions online!), educators can keep lessons fresh with the content they need, whenever they need it.
U. S. Citizenship for Dummies by
Become a U.S. immigration wiz with this hands-on and practical guide to U.S. citizenship In U.S. Citizenship For Dummies, expert citizenship and ESL instructor Jennifer Gagliardi walks you through the ins and outs of the complicated process of obtaining citizenship in the United States. From preparing for test day to understanding the interview process and learning about recent changes to immigration laws, this book demystifies the legal process of transforming a foreign national into a citizen of the U.S. In this book, you'll get: Up-to-date info on the various application and immigration forms you'll need to complete to become a citizen Needed preparation for the all-important interview Complete coverage of the different visas and green cards available to foreign nationals and how you can qualify for them Whether you're an immigrant-to-be who's interested in becoming an American citizen, or you're already a citizen but you want to bone up on U.S. history, government, and civics knowledge, U.S. Citizenship For Dummies is the perfect guide to the procedural and substantive knowledge you need to understand the American immigration system.
Oxford Bookworms Factfiles: Nelson Mandela by
In 1918 in the peaceful province of Transkei, South Africa, the Mandela family gave their new baby son the name Rolihlahla - 'troublemaker'. But the young boy's early years were happy ones, and he grew up to be a good student and an enthusiastic sportsman. Who could imagine then what was waiting for Nelson Mandela - the tireless struggle for human rights, the long years in prison, the happiness and sadness of family life, the story of an extraordinary man, recognized as one of the world's greatest leaders, whose long walk to freedom brought new hope to a troubled nation.
Oxford Bookworms Library: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by
There, on top of the mushroom, was a large caterpillar, smoking a pipe. After a while the Caterpillar took the pipe out of its mouth and said to Alice in a slow, sleepy voice, 'Who are you?' What strange things happen when Alice falls down the rabbit-hole and into Wonderland! She has conversations with the Caterpillar and the Cheshire Cat, goes to the Mad Hatter's tea party, plays croquet with the King and Queen of Hearts...
Oxford Bookworms Library: Hachiko : Japan's most faithful dog by
The story of Hachiko, Japan's most famous dog, begins in the early 1920s, when he comes to live in Tokyo with Professor Ueno. Hachiko loves his new master. When the professor takes the train to work every morning, Hachiko goes with him to the station - and when the professor comes home in the evening, his faithful dog is always waiting. Hachiko soon has many friends in the streets of Tokyo - people like Nobu, the young son of a food seller. Life is good for Hachiko - until one day, everything changes... Here, Nobu tells the true story of Japan's most faithful dog.
Oxford Bookworms Library: Persuasion by
At nineteen Anne Elliot refuses an offer of marriage from Frederick Wentworth, persuaded to do so by Lady Russell, a friend of her dead mother. Wentworth is a sailor, with no money and an uncertain future, says Lady Russell - just a nobody, certainly not worthy of a baronet's daughter. Eight years later Wentworth returns, a rich and successful captain, looking for a wife. Anne is still unmarried, but Captain Wentworth clearly prefers the company of the two Musgrove girls . . .
Oxford Bookworms Library: Red Dog by
Red Dog was a Red Cloud kelpie, an Australian sheepdog. His life was full of excitement and adventure. He travelled all over Western Australia, and never really had an owner. But he had many, many friends, and he always knew where to go for a good meal. Louis de Bernieres collected these stories about the life of a real dog in Western Australia. They are all true stories - some are funny, some are sad, but all are unforgettable. Everybody should have a friend like Red Dog.
Oxford Bookworms Library: Red Roses by
'Who is the man with the roses in his hand?' thinks Anna. 'I want to meet him.''Who is the girl with the guitar?' thinks Will. 'I like her. I want to meet her.'But they do not meet.'There are lots of men!' says Anna's friend Vicki, but Anna cannot forget Will. And then one rainy day . . .
Oxford Bookworms Library: Tales of Mystery and Imagination by
The human mind is a dark, bottomless pit, and sometimes it works in strange and frightening ways. That sound in the night . . . is it a door banging in the wind, or a murdered man knocking inside his coffin? The face in the mirror . . . is it yours, or the face of someone standing behind you, who is never there when you turn round? These famous short stories by Edgar Allan Poe, that master of horror, explore the dark world of the imagination, where the dead live and speak, where fear lies in every shadow of the mind . . .
Oxford Bookworms Library: the Star Zoo by
In our world today a hummingbird is a small, brilliantly coloured bird that lives in the tall trees of tropical forests. In the far distant future, Hummingbird (Hummy for short) is a girl of sixteen who lives somewhere in the Galaxy, on a planet called Just Like Home. She has the name 'Hummingbird' in big letters on all her clothes, but she has never seen a real hummingbird. She has never seen any living animal or bird at all. 'The Book of Remembering' says that there were once many animals on a planet called Earth, but that was before the Burning, a long, long time ago...
Oxford Bookworms Library: Usain Bolt by
In 2008, Usain Bolt became the fastest man in the world. He won three gold medals at the Beijing Olympic Games that year - and he did it again in 2012, and in 2016. So how did a boy from a little Jamaican village become the world's greatest athlete? And why do his fans love him so much?
Oxford Bookworms Library: Vampire Killer by
'I am a vampire killer . . . and now I need help,' says Professor Fletcher to Colin. Colin needs a job and he needs money - but do vampires exist or is the professor crazy?
Airport by
On any given day, in any given city, countless people are arriving and departing...to visit grandma, to close a business deal, to hook up with a lover, to climb a mountain. Intrepid traveler Luis is trapped in flight delay and has many hours to see and hear and sense his fellow passengers. As he grows more invisible, the kinetic world around him takes on a life of its own. Where can all these people be going? Where in the world do we belong? Part of the prestigious Open Door Series, originally designed for adult literacy in Ireland, these books confirm the truth that a story doesn't have to be big to change our world. Airport is part of the US launch of Open Door books written by North American authors.    Â
American Lion by
Set in the rugged western United States, American Lion presents true stories of the majestic North American cougar told by people who experienced the mountain lion up close. From the Rock Creek Canyon battle of the killer lion and shepherd dog to the invisible guest in the hay loft, these encounters are terrifying, heartwarming and at all times as thrilling as the native cats themselves.
Barn Cat by
A young girl leaves Tokyo with her mother in 1979, carrying her pink suitcase to a new home, a new father and sister, on a dairy farm in Wisconsin. Thirty-three years later, her mother's belongings are found packed into boxes, her furniture draped in white sheets. Without so much as a note, she has left the two sisters connected by history, by some idea of family, to look for her. What happens when people lose their way home? Like a little barn cat, they grab onto a second family. . . and start again. Part of the Gemma Open Door Series, originally designed for new readers, these books confirm the truth that a story doesn't have to be big to change ‎the world.
The Bear Suit by
Rollo is tired of humans. Their cities are dirty, and their gizmos are dumb. He knows mankind is wrecking the planet. Rollo's dream is to escape to the Sierra Nevada Mountains where he can live alone and be free of other people.There's just one problem with his scheme: Rollo's hungry human stomach. No matter how much food he carries in his backpack, he always runs out. Inevitably, Rollo has to come back to the "messed-up, man-made world" or starve.
The Cell Phone Lot by
Jessica Vasquez had worked hard to get where she was. Though some in her family had despaired of her future, she put herself through cosmetology school and landed her dream job: overseeing the beauty department for a chain of drugstores. But her fortune abruptly changes. A manager's daughter, on a mission of her own, puts stolen makeup and perfume in Jessica's bag. The girl lies to her dad about what happened, and Jessica is fired. It seems that Jessica's life is over. But is it really? Needing to pay the bills, Jessica begins driving for a ridesharing company. It's scary at first, and she doesn't make a lot of money. But soon she gets the hang of it. Follow Jessica as her father and her new friends at the airport cell phone lot help her to find a new life--and, just maybe, get some of her old life back.
A Full Circle by
In 1878, two years after the Greasy Grass Fight that some called Custer's Last Stand, U.S. soldiers and government contractors rounded up 270 Arapaho people. From the very young to the very old, they were forced to walk from Fort Robinson in western Nebraska across half of what is now the state of Wyoming. Their destination: the Shoshone Indian Reservation. The new home of the Northern Arapaho was a wilderness, but it was theirs and they were glad. Then came a second and tragic event. Within weeks, the Takers arrived to capture confused and terrified Indian children. The young were shipped to boarding schools back east where they were to be stripped of their tribal identities and assimilated into white culture. Families were torn apart. Against this historical backdrop, A Full Circle gives a fictional account of several generations of Arapaho and their experience during this time. Horse-whisperers, a green-eyed girl, brave young men and women, and fierce grandmothers are among the characters that reveal glimpses of a people and a culture that survive today, and a part of American and native history that has long been hidden. A Full Circle is a story that needs to be told.
A Girls' Guide to the Islands by
The American writer Suzanne Kamata had lived in Japan for more than half of her life, yet she had never explored the small nearby islands of the Inland Sea. The islands, first made famous by Donald Richie's The Inland Sea 50 years ago, are noted for displaying artwork created by prominent, and sometimes curious, international artists and sculptors: Naoshima's wealth of museums, including one devoted to 007, Yayoi Kusama's polka dot pumpkins, Kazuo Katase's blue teacup, and a monster rising out of a well on the hour in Sakate, called "Anger at the Bottom of the Sea"--to name a few. Spurred by her teen-aged daughter Lilia's burgeoning interest in art and adventure, Kamata sets out to show her the islands' treasures. Mother and daughter must confront several barriers on their adventure. Lilia is deaf and uses a wheelchair. It is not always easy to get onto -- or off of -- the islands, not to mention the challenges of language, culture, and a generation gap. A Girls' Guide to the Islands takes the reader on a rare visit by a unique mother and daughter team.
Jackie Robinson by
The year was 1947. A talented young minor-league baseball player was called up to the majors to join the Brooklyn Dodgers. But this was no ordinary man, nor any simple achievement. This was Jackie Robinson: an all-around star athlete, a U.S. Army veteran--and a black man. Until that year, baseball's shameful color line had kept African Americans out of the big leagues. Overcoming prejudice, exclusion, and even hatred, Jackie Robinson broke that line and became one of the game's best players. He was recognized in the Hall of Fame, and he inspired many young people to fight segregation and ignorance for the chance to follow their dreams. Through both his career and his character, Jackie Robinson became one of America's greatest heroes. This is his story.
Key City on the River by
On a cold November afternoon in 1833, two wagons are about to cross the dark Mississippi River into Iowa Territory on a tiny boat. Penny Cooper, Nate Tilden, Aunt Sunday, and Jonathan and Ella Butterman are full of questions. Aunt Sunday just wants to know if they're going to drown. Jonathan and Ella wonder if they will succeed in the new Territory. And Penny and Nate are eager to learn if they are going to be free--to marry, to prosper, to live as free people. Aunt Sunday, Penny, and Nate were slaves in Kentucky, not a year before. What will the new Iowa Territory decide on the question of owning human beings? No one yet knows. The little group survives the Mississippi crossing and settles in Key City. There isn't much to the town: a few log cabins and modest buildings in a forest opening. And very rough, very tough lead miners, including the mad Ginn brothers who hate Nate and his dark skin. They can't forget he stopped them from stealing Jonathan's horse. Storm clouds are brewing. Key City on the River is based on fact and takes place in a real town. It explores a little known time in early American history as well as the timeless issue of otherness mixed with hope for the future.
The Night Telephone by
Dr. Tarak Kapoor cannot sleep. He has just taken a job as a telemedicine doctor in Texas. Garnet is two days and five airports away from his home in Mumbai. Tarak is so tired, but his body thinks it's lunchtime in India. By 2:30 a.m. he is wandering the empty streets. To his surprise, he finds a brightly lit pay telephone next to a set of broken traffic lights. Even though it's the middle of the night, people drive up one by one and make calls. Why on earth are they here at this hour? Who are they calling? The mystery deepens when Tarak retraces his steps the next day. All he finds is an empty lot covered with dirt and trash. Perhaps he has made a mistake. His jet lag is pretty bad. But when he returns that night, the phone booth is back in its spot, glowing brightly. Tarak picks up his courage when an old man stops his car to make a call. Tarak questions him about the phone. The man asks, "Is there someone you want to call?" and drives away into the empty night. As Tarak looks at the phone, it begins to ring. Will he answer the night telephone?
No Stopping Her by
Growing up without a mother is hard. Worse is having a stepmother who controls Dad. Brittany Myerson is so ready for high school to end. She knows that life is going to get a whole lot better when she gets her driver's license, the car she's always wanted and a ticket to college away from home. But her new stepmother has decided what's good enough for Brittany: a beat-up, mustard-colored piece of junk and enrollment in the local community college. Brittany thinks it can't get much worse until she learns that her father has changed his will leaving everything to Lynn. Suddenly, Brittany's father dies and the police suspect...murder.
One Season in the Sun by
These are the tales of one-season wonders. The history of baseball is filled with forgotten names--players who are good enough to reach the top of the sport but who, for any number of reasons, land at the edges of the game. Some spend a week or two in the major leagues and then disappear back into the minors. Many leave the sport for good. Still, for an afternoon, a week, or a couple of months, these men stood on the field alongside the best players in The Show. Here are gripping stories of their brief moments in the sun. Praise for Joe Schuster's The Might Have Been: "Surely destined to join the ranks of transcendent baseball novels." ?Richard Russo The Gemma Open Door Series features storytelling by best-selling authors and important voices for new readers. A story doesn't have to be big to change ‎our world‎.‎ ‎
The Orchard by
Lisa's grandfather is turning 100, and her family is gathering from across the country to celebrate at Grandpa Joe's home--a sprawling apricot orchard in southern California. The orchard is both the heart of their family and a reminder of its past. Like many immigrants to America, Joe and his wife, Anna, fled their home country in one of the horrific ethnic cleansings of the twentieth century. They were forced out of Turkey because they were Greek, but they arrived in the New World full of hope. A piece of land with a thriving orchard gave a new beginning to a new American family. Lisa wants to preserve the beloved orchard that Joe built with his own hands, but to her bitter disappointment, everyone else in the family wants to sell. They all have busy lives and families of their own. Lisa is gearing up for a battle--one that intensifies when her college-age daughter falls in love with the wrong man. Old divisions and the longing to hold on to tradition make it hard to see a path forward. Will the family's history tear it apart--or will they find deeper ties to bind them together?
Pirates on Dinosaur Island by
Dr. Christopher Lemuel becomes a ship's doctor on a privateer to escape England, after shamefully killing a man in a matter of honor.nbsp;He is wounded in a sea battle, captured by pirates, and reluctantly becomes a buccaneer. But matters become really strange and then turn deadly when he is marooned on an island populated by enormous beasts unknown in natural history. nbsp;
The Possibility of Lions by
Suddenly driven from their African home by a war in Biafra, the McCall family washes up in a small town in the San Joaquin Valley. The locals assume they must be glad to be back in the "civilized world." But life in America is lonely, desolate and dull, and the children and theirnbsp;nbsp;fragile mother hope that one day they will return to the life they left behind. Their father, a hardened oil man, knows better: war has destroyed any home they may have had. As the truth begins to sink in, mother and children gravitate toward another refugee from war-torn Africa and his dream. Anatole imagines an African animal park on the dry plains surrounding their California town and offers hope that these two worlds can be brought together in one place.
Post Office on the Tokaido by
In Japan, nothing is more familiar than the neighborhood post office, with its big red box in front and bright, welcoming windows. The post office has been Siya's favorite place since she was a child. Now a young woman, Siya is delighted to have a job at the Shindori Post Office in Shizuoka City, even though it is temporary. But her boss is a jerk. Born in Japan of a Japanese father and an Indian mother, Siya looks just a little different. The boss won't believe she is a native speaker and gives her a hard time every day! Adding to her worries, a motorbike bandit is stealing money from elderly customers who use post offices to do their banking. Shindori Post Office is right on the Tokaido Road, an ancient path that follows the sea. As Siya explores her new home in Shizuoka City, she finds history hidden away in this modern city. Siya is strong, and she notices things. One day, as she stands on the old road, with modern cars zooming by, the motorbike bandit strikes. And what Siya does next surprises everyone...even herself!
Queen Serene by
Greta Gorsuch is the author of Key City on the River, The Cell Phone Lot and Post Office on the Tokaido, also published by Gemma Open Door for Literacy.
The Spy by
Pearl Dubois is a Southern belle. She was born in New Orleans to a prominent and wealthy family. During the Second World War, she wants to help the Allies. She lands a job in Paris working for the Office of Strategic Services. The OSS is the first spy agency in the United States. Its goal is to gather intelligence about the Germans and to win the war. Pearl convinces her boss to send her on a secret mission. She will bring photos of German spies to General George Patton, who is stationed near the Belgian border. On the way to the general's camp, Pearl and three companions are ambushed by Nazi soldiers. She becomes a prisoner and must survive by her wits until she can plot her escape. Based on the real-life experiences of Gertrude Sanford Legendre, the first woman to be captured as a spy during WWII, Pearl's adventures are both riveting and inspiring.
The Tiger's Back by
What do you do when Fate shows up in your rose bed with three-inch canines and retractable claws? Robert―not Bob!―Stevenson wakes up one morning in his Vermont home to find a Bengal tiger sitting in his rose garden. Is the tiger real? Or has the illness that has invaded every other part of Robert's body finally and quite literally gone to his head?
Time with Leo by
A boy, just 15, through no effort of his own, travels back in time to the late 15th century, where he meets Leonardo da Vinci. Because the universe bends back on itself, time streams overlap, and he just happens to be in the right place at the right time. Or the wrong one. Da Vinci, in addition to being an artist, was an early futurist, who drew designs for the first airplane, helicopter, submarine, and on and on. Who better to design a time machine to get the boy home? Not a great student, our time-traveler is hooked on natural science as he gets to know Leonardo. Meanwhile, da Vinci is fascinated by the stuff in the backpack - what's that bag of Funyuns? There's plenty of intrigue along the way. Leonardo da Vinci's patron is a Borgia who wants to keep someone from the future, with all his knowledge, deep in the past. Since time travel depends on being at the right place when the time streams intersect, the final scene reveals a breathless dash to the proper place with the Borgias in hot pursuit. Part of the Gemma Open Door Series, originally designed for new readers, these books confirm the truth that a story doesn't have to be big to change the world. Time with Leo is specifically created for young adult readers.
Toast by
In many ways, the Hamilton children are like any other kids. Eleven-year-old Mia and ten-year-old Will love playing Minecraft, eating pizza, and playing in the yard. But Mia knows that because Will is on the autism spectrum, some things are different for him. For starters, he doesn't like things to change. Pizza has to be just so crispy, or he won't eat it. He uses lines from movies to answer most questions. If his toast is too dark, Will could have a total meltdown. When Mom and Dad announce they're getting a babysitter for the first time, Mia is alarmed. What will happen if the babysitter doesn't understand the unusual things Will does? Her parents know that she is Will's "translator" because she always understands him. Can they manage a whole night with a brand-new person in charge? Is it always Mia's job to worry, or can she find a way to rely on other people? Toast explores the tender, scary, funny, and always complex relationship between a girl and her autistic brother.
The Transcriber by
Louis's sister, Emily, is blind. She's also in the marching band, sculpts, and has the biggest bedroom in the house to accommodate her Braille machine. Everyone thinks her accomplishments are extraordinary, and most think that she can do no wrong. The single person who doesn't feel awe--or pity--for her is Louis, who wishes people would just stop comparing them. He wants his own life. Only a family tragedy can begin to bridge the widening gap between brother and sister. Part of the Gemma Open Door Series, originally designed for new readers, these books confirm the truth that a story doesn't have to be big to change ‎the world. The Transcriber is specifically created for young adult readers.
Yankee Doodle by
The Charles River divides Boston and Cambridge, and the Red Line ties the citiesnbsp;together, traveling through an expansenbsp;of class and cultures along its route. When an unlikely combination of riders share an afternoon train, they are surprised tonbsp;discover what'snbsp;common in their American experience. Part of the prestigious Open Door Series, originally designed for adult literacy in Ireland, these books confirm the truth that a story doesn't have to be big to change our world. Yankee Doodle is part of the US launch of Open Door books written by North American authors. nbsp;
MY GATEWAY
gtc.edu