It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo ReferenceCredo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
EBSCOhostEbscohost provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals, with approximately 9,000 unique titles in full-text. In addition, users may access other reference materials through this site. A portion of this database was funded through the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction, Library Division.
Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost)Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
From "Scientific American," whether gas, liquid or solid; radioactive or stable; reactive or inert; toxic or in your vitamin pill, the 118 building blocks each has its own chemically idiosyncratic characteristics--and certain commonalities. See what makes your favorite element unique on this interactive periodic table
Interactive Periodic Table from Chemicool. The brainchild of David D. Hsu. of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA. The website went online in 1996 and since then we have been trying to help out anyone involved in chemistry.
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and pre-print depositories looking for peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, and theses.
Explaining why antifreeze is a component of toothpaste and how salt works in shampoo, this fascinating handbook delves into the chemistry of everyday household products. Decoding more than 150 cryptic ingredients, the guide explains each component's structural formula, offers synonymous names, and describes its common uses.
The Periodic Table looks at the fascinating story and surprising uses of each of those elements, whether solid, liquid or gas. From the little-known uses of gold in medicine to the development of the hydrogen bomb, each entry is accompanied by technical data (category, atomic number, weight, boiling point) presented in easy-to-read headers, and a color coding system that helps the reader to navigate through the different groups of elements.
In this exploration of the ancient art of alchemy, three veteran chemists show that the alchemists' quest involved real science and they recount fascinating stories of the sages who performed these strange experiments.
Simplifying the complex chemical reactions that take place in everyday through the well-stated answers for more than 600 common chemistry questions, this reference is the go-to guide for students and professionals alike. The book covers everything from the history, major personalities, and groundbreaking reactions and equations in chemistry to laboratory techniques throughout history and the latest developments in the field. Chemistry is an essential aspect of all life that connects with and impacts all branches of science, making this readable resource invaluable across numerous disciplines while remaining accessible at any level of chemistry background.
The Science Book is an inventive visual take on astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, and physics. With eye-catching artwork, step-by-step diagrams, and illustrations that break down complicated ideas into manageable concepts, The Science Book will have readers conversant in genetic engineering, black holes, and global warming in no time. Along the way are found mini-biographies of the most well-known scientists, and a glossary of helpful scientific terms.
The Smart Guide to Chemistry tells you everything you need to know about the chemistry of our world and how things work from atoms to molecules to elements, everyday compounds and more. This guide will show you the ins and outs of chemistry - Mendeleev's periodic table of the elements, light years, nuclear reactions and key formulas.