It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
by Rachel Rohlf
Last Updated Aug 23, 2022
628 views this year
Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog
Ideas for Sample Searches: Business correspondence, freedom of speech, mass media, advertising, technical writing, reports, term paper, English language, or any subject words or phrases, like twitter, Internet, gangs, video games, etc.
Search these databases for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on your topic.
EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowEbscohost provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals, with approximately 9,000 unique titles in full-text. In addition, users may access other reference materials through this site. A portion of this database was funded through the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction, Library Division.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Global Road WarriorThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
Search Results for Selected Resources in the Library Catalog
Follow the links below to selected books, videos, and DVDs on listed in the Gateway libraries. You can search for more specific terms too, and limit by format or campus, once you are in the catalog. Items can be sent to the campus of your choice.
For more information about ZoteroBib and how to use ZoteroBib to create citations.
Library Chat Service
If the button below says "Chat with Library Staff", that means our chat service is online. If the button says "Check our FAQs", chat service is offline and you can search through our FAQs or submit a question which library staff will answer within 24 business hours.
Pros & Cons on a Topic
Use these websites to help you find a topic that interests you.
Do some preliminary reading with these resources to gain an overview of your topic.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Britannica LibraryThis link opens in a new windowIn 1981 Britannica published its first digital encyclopedia—probably the first digital encyclopedia—and thus began a journey toward becoming an almost totally digital company. Today the Britannica.com Web site and many others published by EB and its divisions serve tens of millions of people around the world. They are updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.