LibGuides: Human Services: Human Services

Gateway Libraries

Library Home
About the Library
Find Books & Videos
Find Articles
- Database A-Z List
- Databases by Subject
Citing Sources
Subject Guides
Resources for Faculty & Staff
Help & Tutorials

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

What is a Research Article?
1-page handout describing the typical characteristics of a research article. Includes a comparison of magazines and journals.

APA & MLA USERS - Try ZoteroBib (free, publicly accessible, no login required) to Build Your Citations

ZoteroBib
"ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero..."
ZoteroBib FAQ
For more information about ZoteroBib and how to use ZoteroBib to create citations.

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window In 1981 Britannica published its first digital encyclopedia—probably the first digital encyclopedia—and thus began a journey toward becoming an almost totally digital company. Today the Britannica.com Web site and many others published by EB and its divisions serve tens of millions of people around the world. They are updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.

Find Articles

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Ebscohost provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals, with approximately 9,000 unique titles in full-text. In addition, users may access other reference materials through this site. A portion of this database was funded through the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction, Library Division.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
OmniFile (EBSCOhost) (multidisciplinary, all fulltext) This link opens in a new window OmniFile: Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing articles in these subject areas: art, applied science & technology, biological & agricultural science, education general science, humanities, legal studies, library & information sciences, and psychology and social sciences.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Medline (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.

Find articles in specific journals

Search the EBSCOhost database for articles within these Human Services journals.

Counseling and values
Journal of college counseling
Journal of counseling and development
Journal of employment counseling
Journal of mental health counseling
Professional school counseling
Journal of pastoral counseling
Rehabilitation counseling bulletin
Addiction research & theory
American journal of drug and alcohol abuse
Behavioral health management
Contemporary drug problems
Journal of alcohol and drug education
Journal of drug issues
Journal of humanistic counseling, education and development
Journal of multicultural counseling and development
Journal of professional counseling, practice, theory, & research
Measurement and evaluation in counseling and development
Brown University digest of addiction theory and application

Live Chat

Click the button below to chat with library staff, check our FAQs, or submit a question (library staff will respond within 24 business hours).

Videos about Guidance and Counseling (Films on Demand)

Guidance and Counseling Videos (FOD)
Watch videos online. Choose one and click on PLAY.

Other Library Catalogs

Search other library catalogs for materials Gateway Technical College Library staff can order for you through our Interlibrary loan service.

WISCAT Search libraries from around the State of Wisconsin for books, videos and DVDs on your topic of choice.
SHARE Catalog The SHARE Consortium consists of 53 public libraries, school libraries, and public library systems located in southeastern Wisconsin in Dodge, Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine, Walworth and Washington counties. This Catalog includes the collection of Delavan, East Troy, Elkhorn, and Lake Geneva Public Libraries.
Carthage College Search the library catalog of Carthage College, located in Kenosha, WI
Elkhorn Public Library
Kenosha Public Library Search the library catalog of Kenosha Public Library.
Racine Public Library Search the catalog of Racine Public Library and other library members of the SHARE Catalog.
Madison Area Technical College Search the library catalog of MATC - Madison.
Milwaukee Area Technical College Search the library catalog of MATC - Milwaukee.
WorldCat Search the World's Largest Library Catalog!

Catalog Search:
Advanced Search

Human Services: Human Services

Gateway Libraries

Library Home

About the Library

Find Books & Videos

Find Articles

Citing Sources

Subject Guides

Resources for Faculty & Staff

Help & Tutorials

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

APA & MLA USERS - Try ZoteroBib (free, publicly accessible, no login required) to Build Your Citations

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Reference Sources

Find Articles

Find articles in specific journals

Live Chat

Videos about Guidance and Counseling (Films on Demand)

Other Library Catalogs