It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free digital collection from Duke University has 7000+ advertisements from print magazines and newspapers, published 1910s-1950s, focusing on radio, television, transportation, beauty/hygiene, and World War II. Search by keyword or browse focus areas and then narrow results by company, product, subject, or year.
California State University IMAGE Project includes 80,000 images that may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. It has been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials.
Find Articles on Graphic Design
Use these database links to search for full text online articles in every field of art and graphic design.
EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowEbscohost provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals, with approximately 9,000 unique titles in full-text. In addition, users may access other reference materials through this site. A portion of this database was funded through the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction, Library Division.
On the Arts & Architecture page, under Applied Arts, select Graphics & Design to see videos on elements & principles of design, color, composition, product & logo design, digital design, and artists/designers
On the Technical Education page, scroll down to Technical Communication; select Graphics & Design to watch vidoes on communication & the arts, product design, elements and principles of design, logos, desktop publishing, CAD, CAM, sustainability in design, and more.
For access to the main search page in Films on Demand use the link below.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational video content into your curriculum by providing easy integration with learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Most titles are available for individual lease or purchase, or through subscriptions to our robust, curriculum-focused subjects.
Library Chat Service
If the button below says "Chat with Library Staff", that means our chat service is online. If the button says "Check our FAQs", chat service is offline and you can search through our FAQs or submit a question which library staff will answer within 24 business hours.
Reference ebooks from Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to help define art and graphic design terms, or find background on artists and designers. See also selected titles below.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.