LibGuides: Speech/Oral-Interpersonal Communication: Resources

Gateway Libraries

Library Home
About the Library
Find Books & Videos
Find Articles
- Database A-Z List
- Databases by Subject
Citing Sources
Subject Guides
Resources for Faculty & Staff
Help & Tutorials

RESOURCES FOR INFORMATION CONSUMERS

Need help finding a topic?

Use these websites to help you find a topic that interests you.

Selecting a Research Topic (Old Dominion Univ.)
This is a website that helps students narrow down and choose a topic.
All Sides Balanced News
Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.
Pros and Cons for Controversial Issues
39 controversial topics.
Search Gateway Libraries for Books
Click this link to search for books, videos, and other items available at the Gateway Libraries.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many articles, most of which are scholarly. This database also provides the citation for every article.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides both sides of many controversial issues. This database also provides citations for all of their articles.

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Using Credible Sources

What is a Scholarly Article?

Find Articles

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Ebscohost provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals, with approximately 9,000 unique titles in full-text. In addition, users may access other reference materials through this site. A portion of this database was funded through the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction, Library Division.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Database Tutorials & Guides

Help & Tutorials
by Rachel Rohlf Last Updated Oct 24, 2023 189 views this year

Current News Sources

Use these links to find current news online. Notice the different biases between the different sources.

CNN News website
Fox News News website
Google News
MSNBC News and business website
NPR: National Public Radio News website

APA & MLA USERS - Try ZoteroBib (free, publicly accessible, no login required) to Build Your Citations

ZoteroBib
"ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero..."
ZoteroBib FAQ
For more information about ZoteroBib and how to use ZoteroBib to create citations.

Live Chat

Click the button below to chat with library staff, check our FAQs, or submit a question (library staff will respond within 24 business hours).

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online collection of over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window In 1981 Britannica published its first digital encyclopedia—probably the first digital encyclopedia—and thus began a journey toward becoming an almost totally digital company. Today the Britannica.com Web site and many others published by EB and its divisions serve tens of millions of people around the world. They are updated daily. Provided by Wisconsin DPI.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.

Videos on Speech and Communication (Films on Demand)

Videos on Speech and Communication
Scroll down to "Communication" and click on the category "Human Communication."

Other Library Catalogs

Search other library catalogs for materials Gateway Technical College Library staff can order for you through our Interlibrary loan service.

WISCAT Search libraries from around the State of Wisconsin for books, videos and DVDs on your topic of choice.
SHARE Catalog The SHARE Consortium consists of 53 public libraries, school libraries, and public library systems located in southeastern Wisconsin in Dodge, Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine, Walworth and Washington counties. This Catalog includes the collection of Delavan, East Troy, Elkhorn, and Lake Geneva Public Libraries.
Carthage College Search the library catalog of Carthage College, located in Kenosha, WI
Elkhorn Public Library
Kenosha Public Library Search the library catalog of Kenosha Public Library.
Racine Public Library Search the catalog of Racine Public Library and other library members of the SHARE Catalog.
Madison Area Technical College Search the library catalog of MATC - Madison.
Milwaukee Area Technical College Search the library catalog of MATC - Milwaukee.
WorldCat Search the World's Largest Library Catalog!

Catalog Search:
Advanced Search

Speech/Oral-Interpersonal Communication: Resources

Gateway Libraries

Library Home

About the Library

Find Books & Videos

Find Articles

Citing Sources

Subject Guides

Resources for Faculty & Staff

Help & Tutorials

RESOURCES FOR INFORMATION CONSUMERS

Need help finding a topic?

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Using Credible Sources

Find Articles

Database Tutorials & Guides

Current News Sources

APA & MLA USERS - Try ZoteroBib (free, publicly accessible, no login required) to Build Your Citations

Live Chat

Reference Sources

Videos on Speech and Communication (Films on Demand)

Other Library Catalogs