LibGuides: Speech/Oral-Interpersonal Communication: Special Topics-Culture

Gateway Libraries

Library Home
About the Library
Find Books & Videos
Find Articles
- Database A-Z List
- Databases by Subject
Citing Sources
Subject Guides
Resources for Faculty & Staff
Help & Tutorials

International Culture, Travel & Etiquette

Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Global Road Warrior is an international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas , climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.

Cultural Awareness for Healthcare Providers

Use these online resources to find material on transcultural nursing.

Cultural Awareness Resources in the Gateway Libraries
These resources are available at a Gateway library and can be delivered to the campus of your choice.
Culture, Language, and Health Literacy
The site includes cultural aspects of health issues such as childbearing, domestic violence, PTSD, mental disorders, religion, diet, diseases, & death.
more...less...
To improve individual health and build healthy communities, health care providers need to recognize and address the unique culture, language and health literacy of diverse consumers and communities.
EthnoMed: Integrating Cultural Information into Clinical Practice (Web Site)
Information about cultural beliefs, religions, & medical issues pertinent to the health care of immigrants and ethnic populations in the U.S. Browse by topic, medical issue, or by culture.
more...less...
Includes links to journal articles, other web sites, and patient education materials in many languages.
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures
"Healthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics."
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services: Office of Minority Health (Web site) Government website with health information

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Click on one of the topics below for a list of resources in the Gateway libraries that can be delivered to the campus of your choice.

Intercultural Communication
International Business Etiquette
Nonverbal Communication Canned catalog search for "Nonverbal Communication"
Gender Communication

Speech/Oral-Interpersonal Communication: Special Topics-Culture

Gateway Libraries

Library Home

About the Library

Find Books & Videos

Find Articles

Citing Sources

Subject Guides

Resources for Faculty & Staff

Help & Tutorials

International Culture, Travel & Etiquette

Cultural Awareness for Healthcare Providers

Find Books, Videos & DVDs in the Library Catalog

Find Articles about Nonverbal Communication